MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
Freddy Galvis
.241 20 67
Team: PhiladelphiaHt / Wt: 5-10 / 186 NFBC ADP: 472.46
Position: SSBorn: 11/14/1989 Birthplace: Punto Fijo, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: S/R Draft: Undrafted by Phillies (2006)

Latest News
Oct. 1 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)4:31 PM CT-Galvis, who left Friday night's game in the seventh inning with tightness in his left hamstring, did not play Saturday.
Analysis: Galvis went 1 for 3 before coming out Friday and is batting .318 in his last 11 games.
Sep. 30 8:26 PM PT9:26 PM MT10:26 PM CT11:26 PM ET23:26 ET3:26 GMT11:26 8:26 PM MST10:26 PM EST10:56 PM VEN7:26 UAE (+1)10:26 PM CT-Galvis left Friday's game against the Mets due to tightness in his right hamstring.
Analysis: It's unclear if Galvis will play in either of the Phillies' final two games of the season. He went 1 for 3 on Friday and is batting .318 in his last 11 games.
Sep. 25 4:39 PM PT5:39 PM MT6:39 PM CT7:39 PM ET19:39 ET23:39 GMT7:39 4:39 PM MST6:39 PM EST7:09 PM VEN3:39 UAE (+1)6:39 PM CT-Galvis singled and stole a base Sunday to give him a seven-game hit streak.
Analysis: He's 11 for 30 (.367) over that hit streak.
Sep. 19 10:26 PM PT11:26 PM MT12:26 AM CT1:26 AM ET1:26 ET5:26 GMT13:26 10:26 PM MST12:26 AM EST12:56 AM VEN9:26 UAE12:26 AM CT-Galvis rewarded his fantasy owners in Sunday's loss to Miami by going 3 for 4 with a home run, two RBIs and a stolen base.
Analysis: The traditionally light-hitting shortstop became the unlikeliest player to reach the 20-homer mark this season with his sixth-inning solo blast. Galvis now has four homers and eight RBIs while batting .310 over his last eight games.
Sep. 14 8:51 PM PT9:51 PM MT10:51 PM CT11:51 PM ET23:51 ET3:51 GMT11:51 8:51 PM MST10:51 PM EST11:21 PM VEN7:51 UAE (+1)10:51 PM CT-Galvis continued his home run surge, hitting his 19th of the season to lead the Philadelphia Phillies to a 6-2 win over the Pittsburgh Pirates on Wednesday night.
Analysis: Galvis connected on a two-run shot in the second inning off Steven Brault (0-3) for his 10th homer in the last 32 games. Known more as a defensive whiz since taking over for Jimmy Rollins at shortstop, Galvis has been a bright spot offensively for the Phillies. He already has career highs in doubles, homers, extra-base hits, RBIs and stolen bases, though his .239 average and .271 on-base percentage need considerable improvement.
Sep. 14 9:04 AM PT10:04 AM MT11:04 AM CT12:04 PM ET12:04 ET16:04 GMT0:04 9:04 AM MST11:04 AM EST11:34 AM VEN20:04 UAE11:04 AM CT-Galvis drove in a run for the third straight game Tuesday with an RBI single.
Analysis: Galvis, who had homered in each of his previous two games, has quietly become a good power fantasy option at shortstop. He has nine home runs and 21 RBIs in his last 31 games while batting .273.
Sep. 6 7:25 PM PT8:25 PM MT9:25 PM CT10:25 PM ET22:25 ET2:25 GMT10:25 7:25 PM MST9:25 PM EST9:55 PM VEN6:25 UAE (+1)9:25 PM CT-Galvis singled twice and drove in two runs Tuesday.
Analysis: He's homered seven times and driven in 17 runs while batting .282 in his last 24 games.
Sep. 5 4:56 PM PT5:56 PM MT6:56 PM CT7:56 PM ET19:56 ET23:56 GMT7:56 4:56 PM MST6:56 PM EST7:26 PM VEN3:56 UAE (+1)6:56 PM CT-Galvis' two-run homer in the fifth inning helped the Phillies overcome an early deficit in Monday's 6-2 victory at Miami.
Analysis: Galvis' 16 homers are more than double his previous career high and he's hit seven in 23 games since Aug. 9. The shortstop now has a hit in eight of his last nine contests as well.
Aug. 31 8:44 PM PT9:44 PM MT10:44 PM CT11:44 PM ET23:44 ET3:44 GMT11:44 8:44 PM MST10:44 PM EST11:14 PM VEN7:44 UAE (+1)10:44 PM CT-Galvis continued his power surge with his 15th home run Wednesday in a 2-1 loss to Washington.
Analysis: He's batting .292 (19 for 65) with six homers and 13 RBIs over his last 19 games.
Aug. 11 11:35 AM PT12:35 PM MT1:35 PM CT2:35 PM ET14:35 ET18:35 GMT2:35 11:35 AM MST1:35 PM EST2:05 PM VEN22:35 UAE1:35 PM CT-Galvis went deep for the second straight game Wednesday, a three-run shot which keyed a win over the Dodgers.
Analysis: It was the first homer batting right-handed since 2014 for Galvis, who also went deep the previous day. His 11 home runs this season are a career high.
July 21 7:29 PM PT8:29 PM MT9:29 PM CT10:29 PM ET22:29 ET2:29 GMT10:29 7:29 PM MST9:29 PM EST9:59 PM VEN6:29 UAE (+1)9:29 PM CT-Galvis hit a solo homer Thursday.
Analysis: He's batting .333 with seven runs scored in his last 12 games.
July 15 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Galvis had two hits in five straight games before going 0 for 4 in Friday's loss to the Mets.
Analysis: The 10-for-21 surge had moved Galvis' average up to .234, its highest since early June.
July 11 7:34 AM PT8:34 AM MT9:34 AM CT10:34 AM ET10:34 ET14:34 GMT22:34 7:34 AM MST9:34 AM EST10:04 AM VEN18:34 UAE9:34 AM CT-Galvis stayed hot by going 2 for 5 with an RBI in Sunday's 10-3 win at Colorado.
Analysis: Galvis has gone 10 for 21 during a stretch of five straight two-hit performances.
July 9 12:21 PM PT1:21 PM MT2:21 PM CT3:21 PM ET15:21 ET19:21 GMT3:21 12:21 PM MST2:21 PM EST2:51 PM VEN23:21 UAE2:21 PM CT-Galvis recorded his third straight two-hit game and scored twice in Friday's win at Colorado.
Analysis: Galvis isn't much of an offensive threat but is swinging the bat well of late, going 6 for 11 with a home run during that three-game hot streak.
July 8 8:07 AM PT9:07 AM MT10:07 AM CT11:07 AM ET11:07 ET15:07 GMT23:07 8:07 AM MST10:07 AM EST10:37 AM VEN19:07 UAE10:07 AM CT-Galvis chipped in with two hits - including a double - in Thursday's 11-2 loss at Colorado.
Analysis: After going 1 for 16 over his previous five games, Galvis is 4 for 8 in his last two.
July 6 4:02 PM PT5:02 PM MT6:02 PM CT7:02 PM ET19:02 ET23:02 GMT7:02 4:02 PM MST6:02 PM EST6:32 PM VEN3:02 UAE (+1)6:02 PM CT-Galvis hit a two-run homer with two outs in the eighth inning to lift the Phillies to a 4-3 win over the Braves on Wednesday.
Analysis: Despite a .221 average, Galvis leads the team with eight game-winning RBIs.
June 30 8:07 AM PT9:07 AM MT10:07 AM CT11:07 AM ET11:07 ET15:07 GMT23:07 8:07 AM MST10:07 AM EST10:37 AM VEN19:07 UAE10:07 AM CT-Galvis came up big with three hits in Wednesday's 9-8 victory at Arizona.
Analysis: Galvis has gone 5 for 9 in his last two games and is batting .370 with seven RBIs over his last seven.
June 24 10:54 AM PT11:54 AM MT12:54 PM CT1:54 PM ET13:54 ET17:54 GMT1:54 10:54 AM MST12:54 PM EST1:24 PM VEN21:54 UAE12:54 PM CT-Galvis put an end to his slump with a home run, a triple and five RBIs in Thursday's win over the Twins.
Analysis: Galvis had been batting .103 with two extra-base hits and five RBIs over his previous 21 games.
June 20 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET21:07 GMT5:07 2:07 PM MST4:07 PM EST4:37 PM VEN1:07 UAE (+1)4:07 PM CT-Galvis went hitless for a third consecutive game Monday.
Analysis: Galvis is no longer a reasonable fantasy option at shortstop after batting .086 in 19 games since May 31.
May 1 10:17 AM PT11:17 AM MT12:17 PM CT1:17 PM ET13:17 ET17:17 GMT1:17 10:17 AM MST12:17 PM EST12:47 PM VEN21:17 UAE12:17 PM CT-Galvis homered and had the go-ahead single to lead the Philadelphia Phillies to their fifth straight win, 4-3 over the Cleveland Indians on Saturday night.
Analysis: Galvis has been disappointing with a .682 OPS.
Apr. 25 12:22 PM PT1:22 PM MT2:22 PM CT3:22 PM ET15:22 ET19:22 GMT3:22 12:22 PM MST2:22 PM EST2:52 PM VEN23:22 UAE2:22 PM CT-Galvis was 2 for 4 on Sunday.
Analysis: Galvis is 3 for 17 against Max Scherzer so sit him Tuesday. The Phils are off Monday.
Apr. 5 3:05 PM PT4:05 PM MT5:05 PM CT6:05 PM ET18:05 ET22:05 GMT6:05 3:05 PM MST5:05 PM EST5:35 PM VEN2:05 UAE (+1)5:05 PM CT-Galvis hit a two-run home run on opening day Monday.
Analysis: Galvis will try to fend off top prospect J.P. Crawford for the shortstop job.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
2012 Phi 58 190 14 43 15 1 3 24 7 29 0 0 .226 .254 .363
2013 Phi 70 205 13 48 5 4 6 19 13 45 1 0 .234 .283 .385
2014 Phi 43 119 14 21 3 1 4 12 8 30 1 0 .176 .227 .319
2015 Phi 151 559 63 147 14 5 7 50 30 103 10 1 .263 .302 .343
2016 Phi 158 584 61 141 26 3 20 67 25 136 17 6 .241 .274 .399
Career 480 1657 165 400 63 14 40 172 83 343 29 7 .241 .279 .369

w9 © 2016 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Latest Scores and Results