Sports

MLB Baseball

#18
Matt Adams
AVG HR RBI
.293 12 36
Team: AtlantaHt / Wt: 6-3 / 245 NFBC ADP: 460.09
Position: 1BBorn: 8/31/1988 Birthplace: Philipsburg, Pennsylvania
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 23rd Round by Cardinals (2009)


Latest News
June 22 9:56 PM PT10:56 PM MT11:56 PM CT12:56 AM ET0:56 ET4:56 GMT12:56 9:56 PM MST11:56 PM EST12:26 AM VEN8:56 UAE11:56 PM CT-Adams went 1 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Wednesday as the Atlanta Braves beat the San Francisco Giants 5-3. The homer was his 12th of the season. He ended the game with a .293 batting average.
Analysis: He has three homers in five games.
June 21 7:55 AM PT8:55 AM MT9:55 AM CT10:55 AM ET10:55 ET14:55 GMT22:55 7:55 AM MST9:55 AM EST10:25 AM VEN18:55 UAE9:55 AM CT-Matt Adams went 0 for 4 Tuesday as the Atlanta Braves fell to the San Francisco Giants 6-3. He ended the game with a .294 batting average.
June 19 8:17 PM PT9:17 PM MT10:17 PM CT11:17 PM ET23:17 ET3:17 GMT11:17 8:17 PM MST10:17 PM EST10:47 PM VEN7:17 UAE (+1)10:17 PM CT-Matt Adams went 2 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Monday as the Atlanta Braves beat the San Francisco Giants 9-0. The homer was his 11th of the season. Adams scored twice. He ended the game with a .302 batting average.
Analysis: Adams is batting .306 with 10 homers and 27 RBIs in 28 games since being acquired from St. Louis on May 20.
June 18 5:35 PM PT6:35 PM MT7:35 PM CT8:35 PM ET20:35 ET0:35 GMT8:35 5:35 PM MST7:35 PM EST8:05 PM VEN4:35 UAE (+1)7:35 PM CT-Matt Adams went 0 for 3 Sunday as the Atlanta Braves beat the Miami Marlins 5-4. He ended the game with a .297 batting average.
June 17 5:37 PM PT6:37 PM MT7:37 PM CT8:37 PM ET20:37 ET0:37 GMT8:37 5:37 PM MST7:37 PM EST8:07 PM VEN4:37 UAE (+1)7:37 PM CT-Matt Adams went 3 for 4 with two doubles, a home run and four RBIs Saturday as the Atlanta Braves beat the Miami Marlins 8-7. The homer was his 10th of the season. He ended the game with a .303 batting average.
Analysis: Adams has 17 extra-base hits among his 32 hits in 26 games since joining Atlanta on May 20 in a trade from St. Louis after first baseman Freddie Freeman broke his wrist. Nine of Adams' 10 homers and 25 of his 32 RBIs have come as a Brave.
June 17 8:09 AM PT9:09 AM MT10:09 AM CT11:09 AM ET11:09 ET15:09 GMT23:09 8:09 AM MST10:09 AM EST10:39 AM VEN19:09 UAE10:09 AM CT-Matt Adams went 1 for 3 Friday as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Miami Marlins 5-0. He ended the game with a .291 batting average.
June 14 5:06 PM PT6:06 PM MT7:06 PM CT8:06 PM ET20:06 ET0:06 GMT8:06 5:06 PM MST7:06 PM EST7:36 PM VEN4:06 UAE (+1)7:06 PM CT-Matt Adams went 2 for 3 with two RBIs Wednesday as the Atlanta Braves topped the Washington Nationals 13-2. Adams scored twice. He ended the game with a .290 batting average.
Analysis: Adams finished off a monster series in which he went 7 for 12 with two homers, six RBIs and scored seven times over the three games. Freddie Freeman can take his time getting back, as his replacement is batting .346 (18 for 52) with six homers, 15 RBIs and 13 runs scored over his last 13 contests.
June 14 4:47 PM PT5:47 PM MT6:47 PM CT7:47 PM ET19:47 ET23:47 GMT7:47 4:47 PM MST6:47 PM EST7:17 PM VEN3:47 UAE (+1)6:47 PM CT-Matt Adams went 2 for 3 with two RBIs Wednesday as the Atlanta Braves topped the Washington Nationals 13-2. Adams scored twice. He ended the game with a .290 batting average.
Analysis: Adams finished off a monster series in which he went 7 for 12 with two homers, six RBIs and scored seven times over the three games. Freddie Freeman can take his time getting back, as his replacement is batting .346 (18 for 52) with six homers, 15 RBIs and 13 runs scored over his last 13 contests.
June 13 8:10 PM PT9:10 PM MT10:10 PM CT11:10 PM ET23:10 ET3:10 GMT11:10 8:10 PM MST10:10 PM EST10:40 PM VEN7:10 UAE (+1)10:10 PM CT-Matt Adams went 2 for 5 with a double Tuesday as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Washington Nationals 10-5. Adams scored twice. He ended the game with a .282 batting average.
Analysis: Adams has capitalized on increased playing time since being acquired from St. Louis to fill in for Freddie Freeman (left wrist fracture). Eight of Adams' nine home runs and 19 of his 26 RBIs have come since the trade on May 20, and he's batting .327 with six homers and 13 RBIs in his last 12 games.
June 12 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)10:22 PM CT-Matt Adams went 3 for 4 with two home runs and four RBIs Monday as the Atlanta Braves beat the Washington Nationals 11-10. The homers were his eighth and ninth of the season. Adams scored three times. He ended the game with a .277 batting average.
Analysis: A change of scenery has turned Adams into one of the National League's most dangerous hitters, as his eight homers since May 22 - two days after he was acquired from St. Louis - are tied for tops in the majors and he's knocked in 19 runs over that 21-game stretch. The first baseman also has great career numbers at Nationals Park, posting a .353 average with 13 RBIs in 12 games there.
June 11 3:45 PM PT4:45 PM MT5:45 PM CT6:45 PM ET18:45 ET22:45 GMT6:45 3:45 PM MST5:45 PM EST6:15 PM VEN2:45 UAE (+1)5:45 PM CT-Matt Adams went 0 for 4 Sunday as the Atlanta Braves fell to the New York Mets 2-1. He ended the game with a .263 batting average.
June 10 6:31 PM PT7:31 PM MT8:31 PM CT9:31 PM ET21:31 ET1:31 GMT9:31 6:31 PM MST8:31 PM EST9:01 PM VEN5:31 UAE (+1)8:31 PM CT-Adams went 0 for 4 in Game 2 on Saturday as the Atlanta Braves fell to the New York Mets 8-1. He ended the game with a .271 batting average.
Analysis: He's 1 for 10 in his last three games.
June 10 1:59 PM PT2:59 PM MT3:59 PM CT4:59 PM ET16:59 ET20:59 GMT4:59 1:59 PM MST3:59 PM EST4:29 PM VEN0:59 UAE (+1)3:59 PM CT-Matt Adams went 1 for 3 Saturday as the Atlanta Braves lost to the New York Mets 6-1. He ended the game with a .280 batting average.
June 9 8:42 PM PT9:42 PM MT10:42 PM CT11:42 PM ET23:42 ET3:42 GMT11:42 8:42 PM MST10:42 PM EST11:12 PM VEN7:42 UAE (+1)10:42 PM CT-Matt Adams went 0 for 3 Friday as the Atlanta Braves beat the New York Mets 3-2. He ended the game with a .279 batting average.
June 9 9:11 AM PT10:11 AM MT11:11 AM CT12:11 PM ET12:11 ET16:11 GMT0:11 9:11 AM MST11:11 AM EST11:41 AM VEN20:11 UAE11:11 AM CT-Matt Adams went 2 for 4 Thursday as the Atlanta Braves beat the Philadelphia Phillies 3-1. Adams scored once. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
Analysis: Adams has hit safely in six straight games, batting .385 with nine RBIs and six runs.
June 8 9:03 AM PT10:03 AM MT11:03 AM CT12:03 PM ET12:03 ET16:03 GMT0:03 9:03 AM MST11:03 AM EST11:33 AM VEN20:03 UAE11:03 AM CT-Matt Adams went 1 for 4 with a home run and three RBIs Wednesday as the Atlanta Braves beat the Philadelphia Phillies 14-1. The homer was his seventh of the season. He ended the game with a .278 batting average.
Analysis: Adams has homered four times in his last five games, batting .364 in that span with nine RBIs.
June 7 7:27 AM PT8:27 AM MT9:27 AM CT10:27 AM ET10:27 ET14:27 GMT22:27 7:27 AM MST9:27 AM EST9:57 AM VEN18:27 UAE9:27 AM CT-Matt Adams went 1 for 3 Tuesday as the Atlanta Braves fell to the Philadelphia Phillies 3-1. He ended the game with a .279 batting average.
June 6 9:13 PM PT10:13 PM MT11:13 PM CT12:13 AM ET0:13 ET4:13 GMT12:13 9:13 PM MST11:13 PM EST11:43 PM VEN8:13 UAE11:13 PM CT-Matt Adams went 1 for 4 Monday as the Atlanta Braves fell to the Philadelphia Phillies 11-4. Adams scored once. He ended the game with a .278 batting average.
June 4 6:01 PM PT7:01 PM MT8:01 PM CT9:01 PM ET21:01 ET1:01 GMT9:01 6:01 PM MST8:01 PM EST8:31 PM VEN5:01 UAE (+1)8:01 PM CT-Adams went 2 for 5 with a double, a home run and an RBI Sunday as the Atlanta Braves beat the Cincinnati Reds 13-8. The homer was his sixth of the season. He ended the game with a .279 batting average.
Analysis: Adams has 14 homers and 36 RBIs in his career against Cincinnati, including 10 homers and 22 RBIs at Great American Ball Park.
June 3 5:46 PM PT6:46 PM MT7:46 PM CT8:46 PM ET20:46 ET0:46 GMT8:46 5:46 PM MST7:46 PM EST8:16 PM VEN4:46 UAE (+1)7:46 PM CT-Matt Adams went 3 for 6 with two home runs and five RBIs Saturday as the Atlanta Braves beat the Cincinnati Reds 6-5. The homers were his fourth and fifth of the season. He ended the game with a .273 batting average.
Analysis: Adams hit his first career grand slam and connected again for a solo shot in the 12th inning. He's homered four times in 12 games since he was acquired from the Cardinals on May 20, and eight of his 13 hits with Atlanta have gone for extra bases.
June 2 8:10 PM PT9:10 PM MT10:10 PM CT11:10 PM ET23:10 ET3:10 GMT11:10 8:10 PM MST10:10 PM EST10:40 PM VEN7:10 UAE (+1)10:10 PM CT-Matt Adams went 0 for 4 Friday as the Atlanta Braves fell to the Cincinnati Reds 3-2. He ended the game with a .258 batting average.
Analysis: Adams is 2 for 20 with nine strikeouts in his last five games.
May 31 9:37 AM PT10:37 AM MT11:37 AM CT12:37 PM ET12:37 ET16:37 GMT0:37 9:37 AM MST11:37 AM EST12:07 PM VEN20:37 UAE11:37 AM CT-Matt Adams went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Los Angeles Angels 9-3. He ended the game with a .270 batting average.
May 30 9:40 AM PT10:40 AM MT11:40 AM CT12:40 PM ET12:40 ET16:40 GMT0:40 9:40 AM MST11:40 AM EST12:10 PM VEN20:40 UAE11:40 AM CT-Matt Adams went 1 for 4 with a double and two RBIs Monday as the Atlanta Braves beat the Los Angeles Angels 6-3. Adams scored once. He ended the game with a .271 batting average.
May 29 7:23 AM PT8:23 AM MT9:23 AM CT10:23 AM ET10:23 ET14:23 GMT22:23 7:23 AM MST9:23 AM EST9:53 AM VEN18:23 UAE9:23 AM CT-Matt Adams went 0 for 4 Sunday as the Atlanta Braves lost to the San Francisco Giants 7-1. He ended the game with a .272 batting average.
May 28 9:00 AM PT10:00 AM MT11:00 AM CT12:00 PM ET12:00 ET16:00 GMT0:00 9:00 AM MST11:00 AM EST11:30 AM VEN20:00 UAE11:00 AM CT-Matt Adams went 0 for 4 Saturday as the Atlanta Braves lost to the San Francisco Giants 6-3. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
May 27 9:02 AM PT10:02 AM MT11:02 AM CT12:02 PM ET12:02 ET16:02 GMT0:02 9:02 AM MST11:02 AM EST11:32 AM VEN20:02 UAE11:02 AM CT-Adams went 1 for 3 Friday as the Atlanta Braves topped the San Francisco Giants 2-0. He ended the game with a .301 batting average.
Analysis: He's 8 for 21 in his last five games.
May 25 12:27 PM PT1:27 PM MT2:27 PM CT3:27 PM ET15:27 ET19:27 GMT3:27 12:27 PM MST2:27 PM EST2:57 PM VEN23:27 UAE2:27 PM CT-Matt Adams went 1 for 4 with a double Thursday as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 9-4. Adams scored once. He ended the game with a .300 batting average.
May 25 8:31 AM PT9:31 AM MT10:31 AM CT11:31 AM ET11:31 ET15:31 GMT23:31 8:31 AM MST10:31 AM EST11:01 AM VEN19:31 UAE10:31 AM CT-Matt Adams went 1 for 5 with a triple Wednesday as the Atlanta Braves fell to the Pittsburgh Pirates 12-5. He ended the game with a .303 batting average.
May 24 10:26 AM PT11:26 AM MT12:26 PM CT1:26 PM ET13:26 ET17:26 GMT1:26 10:26 AM MST12:26 PM EST12:56 PM VEN21:26 UAE12:26 PM CT-Matt Adams went 3 for 5 with a double, a home run and two RBIs Tuesday as the Atlanta Braves topped the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-5. The homer was his third of the season. Adams scored twice. He ended the game with a .311 batting average.
Analysis: Adams singled in the winning run with about 200 fans left at SunTrust Park for the ninth inning of a game delayed over three hours by rain. He's homered twice in three games since being acquired last Saturday from the St. Louis Cardinals to fill in for injured Freeman at first base.
May 23 9:06 PM PT10:06 PM MT11:06 PM CT12:06 AM ET0:06 ET4:06 GMT12:06 9:06 PM MST11:06 PM EST11:36 PM VEN8:06 UAE11:06 PM CT-Matt Adams went 2 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Monday as the Atlanta Braves beat the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-2. The homer was his second of the season. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
Analysis: Adams was making his second start since being acquired from St. Louis on Saturday as a fill-in for injured first baseman Freddie Freeman, expected to miss about 10 weeks with a broken left wrist.
May 21 5:14 PM PT6:14 PM MT7:14 PM CT8:14 PM ET20:14 ET0:14 GMT8:14 5:14 PM MST7:14 PM EST7:44 PM VEN4:14 UAE (+1)7:14 PM CT-Matt Adams went 0 for 4 Sunday as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Washington Nationals 3-2. He ended the game with a .269 batting average.
May 20 3:46 PM PT4:46 PM MT5:46 PM CT6:46 PM ET18:46 ET22:46 GMT6:46 3:46 PM MST5:46 PM EST6:16 PM VEN2:46 UAE (+1)5:46 PM CT-The Braves have acquired Adams, along with cash considerations, from the Cardinals in exchange for minor league infield prospect Juan Yepez.
Analysis: The Braves quickly find a fill-in for Freddie Freeman, who fractured his wrist after being hit by a pitch Wednesday against Toronto and is expected to miss 10 weeks. Adams sports a .271 average with 56 homers in 486 career major league games, but was deemed expendable by St. Louis with Matt Carpenter now the everyday first baseman.
May 20 9:25 AM PT10:25 AM MT11:25 AM CT12:25 PM ET12:25 ET16:25 GMT0:25 9:25 AM MST11:25 AM EST11:55 AM VEN20:25 UAE11:25 AM CT-Matt Adams went 0 for 1 Friday as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the San Francisco Giants 6-5. He ended the game with a .292 batting average.
May 10 9:35 PM PT10:35 PM MT11:35 PM CT12:35 AM ET0:35 ET4:35 GMT12:35 9:35 PM MST11:35 PM EST12:05 AM VEN8:35 UAE11:35 PM CT-Matt Adams went 1 for 1 with an RBI Tuesday as the St. Louis Cardinals topped the Miami Marlins 6-5. Adams scored once. He ended the game with a .318 batting average.
May 7 3:05 PM PT4:05 PM MT5:05 PM CT6:05 PM ET18:05 ET22:05 GMT6:05 3:05 PM MST5:05 PM EST5:35 PM VEN2:05 UAE (+1)5:05 PM CT-Matt Adams went 0 for 1 Sunday as the St. Louis Cardinals topped the Atlanta Braves 6-4. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
May 6 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)9:46 PM CT-Matt Adams went 2 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Saturday as the St. Louis Cardinals beat the Atlanta Braves 5-3. The homer was his first of the season. Adams scored twice. He ended the game with a .293 batting average.
May 6 9:20 PM PT10:20 PM MT11:20 PM CT12:20 AM ET0:20 ET4:20 GMT12:20 9:20 PM MST11:20 PM EST11:50 PM VEN8:20 UAE11:20 PM CT-Matt Adams went 0 for 1 Friday as the St. Louis Cardinals topped the Atlanta Braves 10-0. He ended the game with a .270 batting average.
May 5 9:30 AM PT10:30 AM MT11:30 AM CT12:30 PM ET12:30 ET16:30 GMT0:30 9:30 AM MST11:30 AM EST12:00 PM VEN20:30 UAE11:30 AM CT-Matt Adams went 0 for 1 Thursday as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-4. He ended the game with a .278 batting average.
May 2 8:29 AM PT9:29 AM MT10:29 AM CT11:29 AM ET11:29 ET15:29 GMT23:29 8:29 AM MST10:29 AM EST10:59 AM VEN19:29 UAE10:29 AM CT-Matt Adams went 1 for 1 Monday as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-5. He ended the game with a .286 batting average.
Apr. 30 7:57 PM PT8:57 PM MT9:57 PM CT10:57 PM ET22:57 ET2:57 GMT10:57 7:57 PM MST9:57 PM EST10:27 PM VEN6:57 UAE (+1)9:57 PM CT-Matt Adams went 1 for 1 Sunday as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Cincinnati Reds 5-4. He ended the game with a .265 batting average.
Apr. 29 2:33 PM PT3:33 PM MT4:33 PM CT5:33 PM ET17:33 ET21:33 GMT5:33 2:33 PM MST4:33 PM EST5:03 PM VEN1:33 UAE (+1)4:33 PM CT-Matt Adams went 0 for 0 with an RBI Friday as the St. Louis Cardinals beat the Cincinnati Reds 7-5. He ended the game with a .242 batting average.
Apr. 28 7:06 AM PT8:06 AM MT9:06 AM CT10:06 AM ET10:06 ET14:06 GMT22:06 7:06 AM MST9:06 AM EST9:36 AM VEN18:06 UAE9:06 AM CT-Adams went 3 for 3 with two doubles and two RBIs Thursday as the St. Louis Cardinals beat the Toronto Blue Jays 6-4 in the nightcap of a doubleheader. He ended the game with a .242 batting average.
Analysis: Adams had five hits total coming into this contest.
Apr. 27 4:39 PM PT5:39 PM MT6:39 PM CT7:39 PM ET19:39 ET23:39 GMT7:39 4:39 PM MST6:39 PM EST7:09 PM VEN3:39 UAE (+1)6:39 PM CT-Matt Adams went 0 for 1 Thursday as the St. Louis Cardinals topped the Toronto Blue Jays 8-4 in the opener of a doubleheader. He ended the game with a .167 batting average.
Mar. 18 2:04 PM PT3:04 PM MT4:04 PM CT5:04 PM ET17:04 ET21:04 GMT5:04 2:04 PM MST4:04 PM EST4:34 PM VEN1:04 UAE (+1)3:04 PM CT-Instead of him fielding throws at first base, manager Mike Matheny asked Adams to go to a practice diamond Saturday with St. Louis outfielders to listen to some tips from former Cardinals great Willie McGee.
Analysis: Such an experience would've been hard to imagine before Adams' offseason conditioning and nutrition program helped him lose 30 pounds and reshape his body. The past couple seasons he entered camp in a battle for the first base spot that ultimately resulted in a platoon. This spring, with left-handed hitting Matt Carpenter moving from first to third, Adams, who also hits from the left side, arrived in camp searching for a role.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 StL 27 86 8 21 6 0 2 13 5 24 0 0 .244 .286 .384
2013 StL 108 296 46 84 14 0 17 51 23 80 0 1 .284 .335 .503
2014 StL 142 527 55 152 34 5 15 68 26 114 3 2 .288 .321 .457
2015 StL 60 175 14 42 9 0 5 24 10 41 1 0 .240 .280 .377
2016 StL 118 297 37 74 18 0 16 54 25 81 0 1 .249 .309 .471
2017 StL 31 48 4 14 2 0 1 7 4 17 0 0 .292 .340 .396
2017 Atl 30 119 22 35 7 1 11 29 9 27 0 0 .294 .346 .647
2017 Tot 61 167 26 49 9 1 12 36 13 44 0 0 .293 .344 .575
Career 516 1548 186 422 90 6 67 246 102 384 4 4 .273 .318 .468

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 StL Total 17 63 5 14 3 0 1 4 3 19 0 0 .222 .269 .317
    LDS 5 19 3 6 1 0 1 2 1 3 0 0 .316 .381 .526
    LCS 6 22 2 5 1 0 0 2 2 9 0 0 .227 .292 .273
    WS 6 22 0 3 1 0 0 0 0 7 0 0 .136 .136 .182
2014 StL Total 9 30 5 7 0 0 3 7 5 5 0 0 .233 .343 .533
    LDS 4 12 2 3 0 0 1 4 3 2 0 0 .250 .400 .500
    LCS 5 18 3 4 0 0 2 3 2 3 0 0 .222 .300 .556
Career 26 93 10 21 3 0 4 11 8 24 0 0 .226 .294 .387


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Latest Scores and Results