Sports

MLB Baseball

#44
Tony Watson
ERA S K
3.38 10 16
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-4 / 225 NFBC ADP: 150.80
Position: RPBorn: 5/30/1985 Birthplace: Sioux City, Iowa
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 9th Round by Pirates (2007)


Latest News
May 28 8:49 AM PT9:49 AM MT10:49 AM CT11:49 AM ET11:49 ET15:49 GMT23:49 8:49 AM MST10:49 AM EST11:19 AM VEN19:49 UAE10:49 AM CT-Tony Watson improved to 3-1, allowing two hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the New York Mets 5-4 on Saturday. Watson struck out one, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
May 24 10:32 AM PT11:32 AM MT12:32 PM CT1:32 PM ET13:32 ET17:32 GMT1:32 10:32 AM MST12:32 PM EST1:02 PM VEN21:32 UAE12:32 PM CT-Tony Watson fell to 2-1, allowing two runs on three hits and one walk in 0.2 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Atlanta Braves 6-5 on Tuesday. Watson struck out one, ending the game with a 3.54 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
May 21 2:17 PM PT3:17 PM MT4:17 PM CT5:17 PM ET17:17 ET21:17 GMT5:17 2:17 PM MST4:17 PM EST4:47 PM VEN1:17 UAE (+1)4:17 PM CT-Watson recorded his 10th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 1-0 on Sunday.
Analysis: Watson struck out one, ending the game with a 2.75 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
May 20 4:28 PM PT5:28 PM MT6:28 PM CT7:28 PM ET19:28 ET23:28 GMT7:28 4:28 PM MST6:28 PM EST6:58 PM VEN3:28 UAE (+1)6:28 PM CT-Tony Watson recorded his ninth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 6-3 on Saturday. Watson did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 2.89 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Watson bounced back well after allowing a three-run homer in a non-save setting in Friday's series opener. Though he's converted nine of his 10 save chances, the lefty closer sports a 7.11 ERA over his last five appearances and has permitted 11 hits in 6 1/3 innings during that period.
May 19 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Tony Watson allowed three runs on three hits in 1.0 inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 7-2 on Friday. Watson did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.06 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: After allowing one run in 12 1/3 innings over his first 11 appearances, the Pittsburgh closer has given up five runs in 5 1/3 innings in his last four games.
May 15 6:57 AM PT7:57 AM MT8:57 AM CT9:57 AM ET9:57 ET13:57 GMT21:57 6:57 AM MST8:57 AM EST9:27 AM VEN17:57 UAE8:57 AM CT-Tony Watson improved to 2-0, allowing four hits and one walk over 2.0 scoreless innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-4 on Sunday. Watson struck out two, ending the game with a 1.62 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
May 14 9:09 AM PT10:09 AM MT11:09 AM CT12:09 PM ET12:09 ET16:09 GMT0:09 9:09 AM MST11:09 AM EST11:39 AM VEN20:09 UAE11:09 AM CT-Tony Watson recorded the save, allowing one run on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-3 on Saturday. Watson did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.84 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Watson, coming off his first blown save of the season, survived a scare to get his eighth save in nine tries.
May 10 1:25 PM PT2:25 PM MT3:25 PM CT4:25 PM ET16:25 ET20:25 GMT4:25 1:25 PM MST3:25 PM EST3:55 PM VEN0:25 UAE (+1)3:25 PM CT-Tony Watson blew his first save, allowing one run on three hits in 1.1 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-3 on Tuesday. Watson struck out two, ending the game with a 1.32 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
May 6 7:41 PM PT8:41 PM MT9:41 PM CT10:41 PM ET22:41 ET2:41 GMT10:41 7:41 PM MST9:41 PM EST10:11 PM VEN6:41 UAE (+1)9:41 PM CT-Tony Watson improved to 1-0, allowing one hit over 2.0 scoreless innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 2-1 on Saturday. Watson struck out two, ending the game with a 0.73 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
May 3 8:54 PM PT9:54 PM MT10:54 PM CT11:54 PM ET23:54 ET3:54 GMT11:54 8:54 PM MST10:54 PM EST11:24 PM VEN7:54 UAE (+1)10:54 PM CT-Tony Watson allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Cincinnati Reds 7-2 on Wednesday. Watson struck out two, ending the game with a 0.87 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 3:05 PM PT4:05 PM MT5:05 PM CT6:05 PM ET18:05 ET22:05 GMT6:05 3:05 PM MST5:05 PM EST5:35 PM VEN2:05 UAE (+1)5:05 PM CT-Watson worked out of a bases-loaded, one-out jam in the ninth inning to close out Sunday's 2-1 win over the Yankees and earn his sixth save in as many chances.
Analysis: Though Watson hasn't been dominant - he sports a 1.63 WHIP in eight appearances - the lefty has been effective while posting a 1.13 ERA. His role as the Pirates' closer is secure.
Apr. 21 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)10:20 PM CT-Watson gave up a pair of singles with two outs in the ninth before finishing the Pirates' 6-3 win over the Yankees on Friday.
Analysis: He's 5 for 5 in save opportunities while posting a 1.29 ERA.
Apr. 7 5:12 PM PT6:12 PM MT7:12 PM CT8:12 PM ET20:12 ET0:12 GMT8:12 5:12 PM MST7:12 PM EST7:42 PM VEN4:12 UAE (+1)7:12 PM CT-Watson worked the ninth for his first save as Pittsburgh beat Atlanta 5-4 on Friday. He hit a batter.
Analysis: Watson pitched in at least 68 games for the fifth straight year in 2016 and ended it as the Pirates' closer following July's trade of Mark Melancon. The left-hander finished with a career-high 15 saves and a 3.06 ERA after posting ERAs of under 2.00 in each of the previous two seasons.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2011 Pit 2 2 0 - 1 43 0 0 41.0 34 18 18 6 20 4 37 1.32 3.95
2012 Pit 5 2 0 - 2 68 0 0 53.1 37 21 20 5 23 1 53 1.13 3.38
2013 Pit 3 1 2 - 4 67 0 0 71.2 51 19 19 5 12 1 54 0.88 2.39
2014 Pit 10 2 2 - 9 78 0 0 77.1 64 16 14 5 15 0 81 1.02 1.63
2015 Pit 4 1 1 - 3 77 0 0 75.1 55 17 16 3 17 1 62 0.96 1.91
2016 Pit 2 5 15 - 20 70 0 0 67.2 52 26 23 10 20 1 58 1.06 3.06
2017 Pit 3 1 10 - 12 19 0 0 21.1 27 8 8 3 8 2 16 1.64 3.38
Career 29 14 30 - 51 422 0 0 407.2 320 125 118 37 115 10 361 1.07 2.61

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 Pit 43 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Pit 68 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Pit 67 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Pit 78 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2016 Pit 70 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 - - -
2017 Pit 19 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 422 7 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 6 0 0 .143 .143 .143

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 Pit Total 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 4.0 4 1 1 1 1 0 1 2.25
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 2 1 1 1 0 0 0 9.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 3.0 2 0 0 0 1 0 1 0.00
2015 Pit Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
Career 0 0 0 - 0 5 0 0 5.0 4 1 1 1 1 0 2 1.80


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 222 95 89 92.4 68.94
Slider 27 85 82 83.7 8.39
Changeup 73 87 82 84.8 22.67

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Latest Scores and Results