MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
Jason Kipnis
.303 9 52
Team: ClevelandHt / Wt: 5-11 / 195 NFBC ADP: 75.37
Position: 2BBorn: 4/3/1987 Birthplace: Northbrook, Illinois
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 2nd Round by Indians (2009)

Latest News
Sep. 21 12:45 PM PT1:45 PM MT2:45 PM CT3:45 PM ET15:45 ET19:45 GMT3:45 12:45 PM MST2:45 PM EST3:15 PM VEN23:45 UAE2:45 PM CT-Kipnis was 2 for 4 Sunday against the White Sox.
Analysis: Kipnis posted a 1.217 OPS in May, but has faded ever since with a .926 mark in June, .737 in July, .701 in August and a putrid .508 mark this month.
Sep. 3 3:33 PM PT4:33 PM MT5:33 PM CT6:33 PM ET18:33 ET22:33 GMT6:33 3:33 PM MST5:33 PM EST6:03 PM VEN2:33 UAE (+1)5:33 PM CT-Kipnis was 2 for 4 on Wednesday.
Analysis: Kipnis is a fantasy star with a .857 OPS.
Aug. 27 2:42 PM PT3:42 PM MT4:42 PM CT5:42 PM ET17:42 ET21:42 GMT5:42 2:42 PM MST4:42 PM EST5:12 PM VEN1:42 UAE (+1)4:42 PM CT-Kipnis homered, doubled and drove in three runs in a 6-2 win against Milwaukee on Wednesday night.
Analysis: Kipnis, owner of an AL-best .325 average, is 5 for 9 with three doubles, a home run and five RBIs in the first two games in this series. He was 5 for 23 (.217) with one extra-base hit in his first seven games after returning from a shoulder injury.
Aug. 26 1:10 PM PT2:10 PM MT3:10 PM CT4:10 PM ET16:10 ET20:10 GMT4:10 1:10 PM MST3:10 PM EST3:40 PM VEN0:10 UAE (+1)3:10 PM CT-Kipnis was 3 for 4 with two doubles against the Brewers on Tuesday.
Analysis: Kipnis came in hitting just .161 in his past nine games, so Tuesday's performance was especially welcomed by fantasy owners.
Aug. 21 1:37 PM PT2:37 PM MT3:37 PM CT4:37 PM ET16:37 ET20:37 GMT4:37 1:37 PM MST3:37 PM EST4:07 PM VEN0:37 UAE (+1)3:37 PM CT-Kipnis was 3 for 4 on Thursday.
Analysis: Kipnis looked rusty the night before with a 0-for-5 effort in Boston but wielded a hot bat in the Bronx, where he has a .343 career average.
Aug. 3 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Kipnis returned Tuesday for the Tribe.
Analysis: Kipnis was on the 15-day disabled list because of chronic inflammation in his right shoulder.
July 25 2:59 PM PT3:59 PM MT4:59 PM CT5:59 PM ET17:59 ET21:59 GMT5:59 2:59 PM MST4:59 PM EST5:29 PM VEN1:59 UAE (+1)4:59 PM CT-Kipnis is out of the lineup because of a stiff neck. Indians manager Terry Francona said Kipnis' neck has been bothering him for a couple of days.
Analysis: Francona said Kipnis is available to pinch hit and expects him to play Sunday in the finale of the three-game series.
July 3 1:24 PM PT2:24 PM MT3:24 PM CT4:24 PM ET16:24 ET20:24 GMT4:24 1:24 PM MST3:24 PM EST3:54 PM VEN0:24 UAE (+1)3:24 PM CT-Kipnis was 2 for 5 with two runs scored on Thursday.
Analysis: Kipnis went 8 for 19 with a dinger in the four-game sweep.
July 2 12:49 PM PT1:49 PM MT2:49 PM CT3:49 PM ET15:49 ET19:49 GMT3:49 12:49 PM MST2:49 PM EST3:19 PM VEN23:49 UAE2:49 PM CT-Kipnis was 2 for 5 on Wednesday.
Analysis: Kipnis is 6 for 14 in the series and expect another solid effort in the finale as the Tribe go for the sweep.
June 30 10:06 AM PT11:06 AM MT12:06 PM CT1:06 PM ET13:06 ET17:06 GMT1:06 10:06 AM MST12:06 PM EST12:36 PM VEN21:06 UAE12:06 PM CT-Kipnis was 3 for 4 with his 25th double against the Rays on Monday.
Analysis: Prior to Monday, Kipnis had gone hitless in two consecutive games for the first time since April 14-17.
June 29 2:55 PM PT3:55 PM MT4:55 PM CT5:55 PM ET17:55 ET21:55 GMT5:55 2:55 PM MST4:55 PM EST5:25 PM VEN1:55 UAE (+1)4:55 PM CT-Kipnis shockingly went 0 for 7 in Sunday's doubleheader against the O's.
Analysis: Kipnis entered the two games with a 20-game hit streak before disaster struck the Tribe superstar and his fantasy owners.
June 24 12:48 PM PT1:48 PM MT2:48 PM CT3:48 PM ET15:48 ET19:48 GMT3:48 12:48 PM MST2:48 PM EST3:18 PM VEN23:48 UAE2:48 PM CT-Kipnis extended his hit streak to 19 games in an 8-2 win over Detroit on Wednesday.
Analysis: Kipnis is batting .414 (29 for 70) with eight doubles in the AL's longest hit streak this season. Wilson Ramos had a 19-gamer for Washington that ended in May. Kipnis kept his AL-best average at .354 with Wednesday's 1-for-3 performance.
June 23 1:48 PM PT2:48 PM MT3:48 PM CT4:48 PM ET16:48 ET20:48 GMT4:48 1:48 PM MST3:48 PM EST4:18 PM VEN0:48 UAE (+1)3:48 PM CT-Kipnis was 2 for 5 with a double Monday against Detroit.
Analysis: Kipnis has hit safely in 17 straight and his 22 doubles are tied for the major league lead.
June 21 10:59 AM PT11:59 AM MT12:59 PM CT1:59 PM ET13:59 ET17:59 GMT1:59 10:59 AM MST12:59 PM EST1:29 PM VEN21:59 UAE12:59 PM CT-Kipnis was 2 for 3 on Saturday.
Analysis: Kipnis is batting .389 during a 15-game hit streak.
June 20 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)5:41 PM CT-Kipnis was 3 for 4 on Friday.
Analysis: Kipnis is batting .373 during a 14-game hit streak.
June 17 12:55 PM PT1:55 PM MT2:55 PM CT3:55 PM ET15:55 ET19:55 GMT3:55 12:55 PM MST2:55 PM EST3:25 PM VEN23:55 UAE2:55 PM CT-Kipnis extended his hit streak to 11 games in a 6-0 win over the Chicago Cubs on Tuesday night.
Analysis: Kipnis is third in the AL with a .333 average and had not hit better than .284 in his first four seasons.
June 15 11:36 AM PT12:36 PM MT1:36 PM CT2:36 PM ET14:36 ET18:36 GMT2:36 11:36 AM MST1:36 PM EST2:06 PM VEN22:36 UAE1:36 PM CT-Kipnis was 2 for 3 on Sunday to give him a 10-game hitting streak.
Analysis: Kipnis is a native of Northbrook, Illinois who will play at Wrigley Field for the first time Monday night - weather permitting. Adjust your fantasy lineup if the game is postponed.
June 11 8:43 AM PT9:43 AM MT10:43 AM CT11:43 AM ET11:43 ET15:43 GMT23:43 8:43 AM MST10:43 AM EST11:13 AM VEN19:43 UAE10:43 AM CT-Kipnis is out of the starting lineup for the first time this season. Kipnis has hit safely in 20 consecutive home games, a Progressive Field record. He's batting .488 (39 for 80) in that stretch.
Analysis: Manager Terry Francona decided to give Kipnis, who started Cleveland's first 58 games, Thursday off. Zach Walters is starting at second against Seattle. There is no word on whether Kipnis and the Tribe will be in attendance to watch LeBron James and the Cavs in the NBA finals across the street.
June 8 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)4:31 PM CT-Kipnis was 3 for 5 on Sunday.
Analysis: Kipnis continues to roll with a .932 OPS.
June 1 1:08 PM PT2:08 PM MT3:08 PM CT4:08 PM ET16:08 ET20:08 GMT4:08 1:08 PM MST3:08 PM EST3:38 PM VEN0:08 UAE (+1)3:08 PM CT-Kipnis was 2 for 5 with a sac fly on Sunday.
Analysis: Kipnis finished as the majors' batting champ in May with a .429 average.
May 29 1:01 PM PT2:01 PM MT3:01 PM CT4:01 PM ET16:01 ET20:01 GMT4:01 1:01 PM MST3:01 PM EST3:31 PM VEN0:01 UAE (+1)3:01 PM CT-Kipnis was 2 for 4 with two RBIs Thursday at Seattle.
Analysis: Kipnis has been a monster in the month of May, hitting .449 with 20 extra-base hits and 16 RBIs in 26 games.
May 28 2:58 PM PT3:58 PM MT4:58 PM CT5:58 PM ET17:58 ET21:58 GMT5:58 2:58 PM MST4:58 PM EST5:28 PM VEN1:58 UAE (+1)4:58 PM CT-Kipnis had three hits and finished a home run shy of the cycle in a 12-3 rout of Texas on Wednesday.
Analysis: Kipnis is batting .447 in May with 13 doubles, four homers and three triples.
May 23 10:47 AM PT11:47 AM MT12:47 PM CT1:47 PM ET13:47 ET17:47 GMT1:47 10:47 AM MST12:47 PM EST1:17 PM VEN21:47 UAE12:47 PM CT-Kipnis was 3 for 4 with two RBIs in Friday's win over Cincinnati.
Analysis: In 20 games this month, Kipnis is batting a .463 average and .546 on-base percentage, both easily MLB bests.
May 17 6:28 PM PT7:28 PM MT8:28 PM CT9:28 PM ET21:28 ET1:28 GMT9:28 6:28 PM MST8:28 PM EST8:58 PM VEN5:28 UAE (+1)8:28 PM CT-Kipnis went 3 for 6 with a home run, two RBIs and two runs Saturday.
Analysis: Kipnis has 24 runs and a .910 OPS this season.
May 16 12:25 PM PT1:25 PM MT2:25 PM CT3:25 PM ET15:25 ET19:25 GMT3:25 12:25 PM MST2:25 PM EST2:55 PM VEN23:25 UAE2:25 PM CT-Kipnis was 4 for 5 in Friday's win in Texas.
Analysis: Kipnis is batting .519 in 13 games this month. He's batting .397 (31 for 78) in the leadoff spot compared to .237 (9 for 38) when hitting second and .280 (7 for 25) batting third.
May 15 2:12 PM PT3:12 PM MT4:12 PM CT5:12 PM ET17:12 ET21:12 GMT5:12 2:12 PM MST4:12 PM EST4:42 PM VEN1:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-Kipnis has found his stroke after a slow start, going 2 for 4 with a double in Thursday's 2-1 loss to St. Louis.
Analysis: Kipnis has gone 12 for 20 (.600) over his last five games. The former All-Star was batting just .218 on April 30.
May 11 2:50 PM PT3:50 PM MT4:50 PM CT5:50 PM ET17:50 ET21:50 GMT5:50 2:50 PM MST4:50 PM EST5:20 PM VEN1:50 UAE (+1)4:50 PM CT-Kipnis went 3 for 5 with two RBIs, two runs, two extra base hits and a stolen base Sunday.
Analysis: He is hitting .462 in nine games this month.
May 4 2:16 PM PT3:16 PM MT4:16 PM CT5:16 PM ET17:16 ET21:16 GMT5:16 2:16 PM MST4:16 PM EST4:46 PM VEN1:16 UAE (+1)4:16 PM CT-Kipnis was 4 for 5 with a home run in Sunday's win over Toronto.
Analysis: Kipnis is 8 for 12 with two homers in three games and three in his last five since going 67 without leaving the yard.
Apr. 30 3:54 PM PT4:54 PM MT5:54 PM CT6:54 PM ET18:54 ET22:54 GMT6:54 3:54 PM MST5:54 PM EST6:24 PM VEN2:54 UAE (+1)5:54 PM CT-Kipnis hit a three-run home run and knocked in another run in Wednesday's 7-5 win over Kansas City.
Analysis: Kipnis hadn't homered with only four RBIs over his previous 19 games this season.
Apr. 12 12:46 PM PT1:46 PM MT2:46 PM CT3:46 PM ET15:46 ET19:46 GMT3:46 12:46 PM MST2:46 PM EST3:16 PM VEN23:46 UAE2:46 PM CT-Kipnis went 2 for 5 on Saturday.
Analysis: Kipnis has hit safely in four straight, though curiously still has yet to steal a base to hurt his owners.
Apr. 9 3:00 PM PT4:00 PM MT5:00 PM CT6:00 PM ET18:00 ET22:00 GMT6:00 3:00 PM MST5:00 PM EST5:30 PM VEN2:00 UAE (+1)5:00 PM CT-Kipnis had two hits for the Indians on Wednesday night.
Analysis: Kipnis failed to steal a base to hurt fantasy owners.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
2011 Cle 36 136 24 37 9 1 7 19 11 34 5 0 .272 .333 .507
2012 Cle 152 591 86 152 22 4 14 76 67 109 31 7 .257 .335 .379
2013 Cle 149 564 86 160 36 4 17 84 76 143 30 7 .284 .366 .452
2014 Cle 129 500 61 120 25 1 6 41 50 100 22 3 .240 .310 .330
2015 Cle 141 565 86 171 43 7 9 52 57 107 12 8 .303 .372 .451
Career 607 2356 343 640 135 17 53 272 261 493 100 25 .272 .346 .411


Hitting Statistics
2013 Cle Total 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WC 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 1 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000

w10 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.

Latest Scores and Results