Baseball

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#27
Giancarlo Stanton
AVG HR RBI
.288 37 105
Team: MiamiHt / Wt: 6-6 / 242 NFBC ADP: 27.22
Position: RFBorn: 11/8/1989 Birthplace: Panorama City, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 2nd Round by Marlins (2007)


Latest News
Sep. 25 1:17 PM PT2:17 PM MT3:17 PM CT4:17 PM ET16:17 ET20:17 GMT4:17 1:17 PM MST3:17 PM EST3:47 PM VEN0:17 UAE (+1)3:17 PM CT-The Miami Marlins still plan to make a multiyear contract offer to NL home run leader Giancarlo Stanton this offseason, despite his recent season-ending injury.
Analysis: Stanton suffered fractures in his face and other injuries when he was hit by a pitch Sept. 11. The Marlins are confident he'll fully recover, and they hope to reach a long-term agreement with him. It's uncertain how receptive Stanton will be to the Marlins' offer. He has expressed frustration about the cost-conscious franchise's constant roster turnover and the pitcher-friendly dimensions at Marlins Park.
Sep. 17 3:11 PM PT4:11 PM MT5:11 PM CT6:11 PM ET18:11 ET22:11 GMT6:11 3:11 PM MST5:11 PM EST5:41 PM VEN2:11 UAE (+1)5:11 PM CT-Stanton is finished for the season because of last week's beaning.
Analysis: Stanton was hit in the face by a fastball from Milwaukee's Mike Fiers last Thursday. Stanton sustained facial fractures, dental damages, cuts that required stitches and two black eyes. The 24-year-old Stanton is a top candidate for the NL MVP award. His 37 home runs still are the most in the NL, and he was leading the majors with 105 RBIs when he was hurt.
Sep. 12 10:40 AM PT11:40 AM MT12:40 PM CT1:40 PM ET13:40 ET17:40 GMT1:40 10:40 AM MST12:40 PM EST1:10 PM VEN21:40 UAE12:40 PM CT-Stanton says he's feeling ''much better,'' one day after sustaining facial fractures and other injuries when he was struck in the face by a fastball. Stanton leads the NL with 37 home runs and 105 RBIs.
Analysis: The Marlins say Stanton was expected back in Miami on Friday. The team has not definitively said his season is over, though manager Mike Redmond strongly suggested he does not expect Stanton back in 2014.
Sep. 11 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Stanton is likely out for the season after he was driven off the field in an ambulance after being hit in the face by a pitch at Milwaukee on Thursday night.
Analysis: The Marlins said Stanton, the major league RBI leader and a top candidate for the NL MVP award, was being treated at a hospital for a facial cut. He also was undergoing X-rays and a CT scan during a 4-2 loss to the Brewers. Asked if Stanton could play again this season, Marlins manager Mike Redmond said, "It does not look good."
Sep. 9 3:15 PM PT4:15 PM MT5:15 PM CT6:15 PM ET18:15 ET22:15 GMT6:15 3:15 PM MST5:15 PM EST5:45 PM VEN2:15 UAE (+1)5:15 PM CT-Stanton belted his NL-leading 37th home run in Monday's 6-4 win at Milwaukee.
Analysis: Stanton needs one more homer to set a career high with 38. He's hit four home runs with seven RBIs in seven September games.
Sep. 2 3:17 PM PT4:17 PM MT5:17 PM CT6:17 PM ET18:17 ET22:17 GMT6:17 3:17 PM MST5:17 PM EST5:47 PM VEN2:17 UAE (+1)5:17 PM CT-Stanton belted his 34th home run in Monday's 9-6 victory over the Mets.
Analysis: Stanton is just 3 for 22 with the one homer over his last six games, but hopefully his Labor Day long ball can get him going.
Aug. 18 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)5:41 PM CT-Stanton went 2 for 4 with a home run and four RBIs in Sunday's win over Arizona.
Analysis: He's homered nine times with 17 RBIs in 18 games.
Aug. 12 1:50 PM PT2:50 PM MT3:50 PM CT4:50 PM ET16:50 ET20:50 GMT4:50 1:50 PM MST3:50 PM EST4:20 PM VEN0:50 UAE (+1)3:50 PM CT-Stanton continued his power surge with two more home runs in Monday's 6-5 win over St. Louis.
Analysis: Stanton is 6 for 17 with five homers and eight RBIs in his last five games.
Aug. 2 5:04 PM PT6:04 PM MT7:04 PM CT8:04 PM ET20:04 ET0:04 GMT8:04 5:04 PM MST7:04 PM EST7:34 PM VEN4:04 UAE (+1)7:04 PM CT-Stanton hit his 26th homer of the season and third in as many games in a 5-2 loss to Cincinnati on Friday.
Analysis: Stanton has five hits over his last four games with all but one going for extra bases. He'll look to homer for a fourth straight game for just the second time in his career. He did it previously from Aug. 14-17, 2011.
Aug. 1 12:49 PM PT1:49 PM MT2:49 PM CT3:49 PM ET15:49 ET19:49 GMT3:49 12:49 PM MST2:49 PM EST3:19 PM VEN23:49 UAE2:49 PM CT-Stanton went deep for the second straight game and 25th time this season in Thursday's 3-1 loss to Cincinnati.
Analysis: Stanton has seven RBIs in his last seven games and could be due for a surge after driving in just four runs in his previous 16 contests.
July 31 3:24 PM PT4:24 PM MT5:24 PM CT6:24 PM ET18:24 ET22:24 GMT6:24 3:24 PM MST5:24 PM EST5:54 PM VEN2:24 UAE (+1)5:24 PM CT-Stanton recorded his 24th homer of the season in a 4-3 loss to the Nationals on Wednesday.
Analysis: Stanton has fallen off a bit, hitting just .215 in his last 19 games.
July 27 10:23 AM PT11:23 AM MT12:23 PM CT1:23 PM ET13:23 ET17:23 GMT1:23 10:23 AM MST12:23 PM EST12:53 PM VEN21:23 UAE12:23 PM CT-Stanton hit a three-run double Saturday night.
Analysis: Stanton, 3 for 8 in the series, said a sweep against the Astros would put the Marlins in a good position. "We have to get sweeps in series like this," Stanton said.
July 23 12:20 PM PT1:20 PM MT2:20 PM CT3:20 PM ET15:20 ET19:20 GMT3:20 12:20 PM MST2:20 PM EST2:50 PM VEN23:20 UAE2:20 PM CT-Stanton was 2 for 4 with his 66th RBI of the season in a 6-5 win at Atlanta on Tuesday.
Analysis: Stanton still leads the league in RBIs despite recording just four in his last 13 contests.
July 19 11:19 AM PT12:19 PM MT1:19 PM CT2:19 PM ET14:19 ET18:19 GMT2:19 11:19 AM MST1:19 PM EST1:49 PM VEN22:19 UAE1:19 PM CT-Stanton hit his 22nd home run, tied for the most in the NL, on Friday.
Analysis: Stanton is tied with Cubs superstar Anthony Rizzo.
July 5 12:17 PM PT1:17 PM MT2:17 PM CT3:17 PM ET15:17 ET19:17 GMT3:17 12:17 PM MST2:17 PM EST2:47 PM VEN23:17 UAE2:17 PM CT-Stanton was 0 for 4 on Friday.
Analysis: Stanton entered with an NL-leading 21 homers and 61 RBI. He punched the padded wall in frustration after his glove failed him for the second time on one of two RBI doubles by the Cards. Let's see if this attitude hurts him at the plate. Fantasy owners may want to monitor the situation.
June 29 9:42 AM PT10:42 AM MT11:42 AM CT12:42 PM ET12:42 ET16:42 GMT0:42 9:42 AM MST11:42 AM EST12:12 PM VEN20:42 UAE11:42 AM CT-Stanton had another three hits in a 7-6 loss in 14 innings to Oakland on Saturday.
Analysis: Stanton, now fourth in the NL with a .316 average, is 16 for 32 (.500) with four doubles and one homer in his last eight games.
June 28 5:58 PM PT6:58 PM MT7:58 PM CT8:58 PM ET20:58 ET0:58 GMT8:58 5:58 PM MST7:58 PM EST8:28 PM VEN4:58 UAE (+1)7:58 PM CT-Stanton turned in another multihit effort Friday against Oakland, going 2 for 4.
Analysis: Stanton is 14 for 30 during an eight-game hitting streak and has five multihit performances in his last seven contests.
June 27 2:37 PM PT3:37 PM MT4:37 PM CT5:37 PM ET17:37 ET21:37 GMT5:37 2:37 PM MST4:37 PM EST5:07 PM VEN1:37 UAE (+1)4:37 PM CT-Stanton hit his NL-leading 21st homer in Thursday's loss at Philadelphia.
Analysis: Stanton is batting .462 during a seven-game hitting streak.
June 25 2:59 PM PT3:59 PM MT4:59 PM CT5:59 PM ET17:59 ET21:59 GMT5:59 2:59 PM MST4:59 PM EST5:29 PM VEN1:59 UAE (+1)4:59 PM CT-Stanton had three hits, including a pair of doubles, in a 7-4 loss in Philadelphia on Tuesday.
Analysis: Stanton, now batting .308, is 8 for 14 (.571) with three doubles in his last four games.
June 23 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)5:12 PM CT-Stanton had two hits Sunday.
Analysis: Stanton didn't homer in the four-game set against the Mets so that's disappointing for his owners.
June 18 12:14 PM PT1:14 PM MT2:14 PM CT3:14 PM ET15:14 ET19:14 GMT3:14 12:14 PM MST2:14 PM EST2:44 PM VEN23:14 UAE2:14 PM CT-Stanton has left the Miami Marlins' game against the Chicago Cubs with a bruised left wrist, and his status is day to day.
Analysis: Stanton hit his 20th homer in the first inning but departed after six innings Wednesday. It was unclear when he hurt his wrist. He hasn't missed a game this season.
June 14 3:27 PM PT4:27 PM MT5:27 PM CT6:27 PM ET18:27 ET22:27 GMT6:27 3:27 PM MST5:27 PM EST5:57 PM VEN2:27 UAE (+1)5:27 PM CT-Stanton went 3 for 5 with his 18th home run and a double in Friday's 8-6, 13-inning loss to Pittsburgh.
Analysis: Stanton had gone 3 for 21 without a home run or an RBI over his previous five contests.
May 31 3:22 PM PT4:22 PM MT5:22 PM CT6:22 PM ET18:22 ET22:22 GMT6:22 3:22 PM MST5:22 PM EST5:52 PM VEN2:22 UAE (+1)5:22 PM CT-Stanton hammered his 16th home run Friday in a 3-2 loss to the Braves.
Analysis: Stanton is 8 for 21 with four home runs and six RBIs in his last six games.
May 27 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)5:41 PM CT-Stanton is 3 for 4 with a homer and a double in Monday's 3-2 win at Washington.
Analysis: Stanton is 8 for 19 with three homers in his last five games.
May 24 3:49 PM PT4:49 PM MT5:49 PM CT6:49 PM ET18:49 ET22:49 GMT6:49 3:49 PM MST5:49 PM EST6:19 PM VEN2:49 UAE (+1)5:49 PM CT-Stanton clubbed a pair of solo shots to help Milwaukee to a 9-5 win at Miami on Friday.
Analysis: Stanton, who now has 14 homers, had his third multi-homer game of the season.
May 15 3:58 PM PT4:58 PM MT5:58 PM CT6:58 PM ET18:58 ET22:58 GMT6:58 3:58 PM MST5:58 PM EST6:28 PM VEN2:58 UAE (+1)5:58 PM CT-Stanton went 3 for 3 with a double to help the Marlins win, 13-3 at Dodger Stadium on Thursday.
Analysis: Stanton is batting .421 with four homers over a 16-game hitting streak.
May 14 11:29 AM PT12:29 PM MT1:29 PM CT2:29 PM ET14:29 ET18:29 GMT2:29 11:29 AM MST1:29 PM EST1:59 PM VEN22:29 UAE1:29 PM CT-Stanton went 2 for 4 Tuesday in a 7-1 loss to the Los Angeles Dodgers.
Analysis: He's batting .389 on a career-best 15-game hitting streak.
May 9 1:10 PM PT2:10 PM MT3:10 PM CT4:10 PM ET16:10 ET20:10 GMT4:10 1:10 PM MST3:10 PM EST3:40 PM VEN0:10 UAE (+1)3:10 PM CT-Stanton hit his National League-leading 11th homer Thursday at San Diego, extending his hitting streak to 10 games. He also drew at least one walk for the sixth straight contest.
Analysis: Stanton owns an OPS of 1.255 during his 10-game hitting streak with 11 RBIs.
May 7 1:17 PM PT2:17 PM MT3:17 PM CT4:17 PM ET16:17 ET20:17 GMT4:17 1:17 PM MST3:17 PM EST3:47 PM VEN0:17 UAE (+1)3:17 PM CT-Stanton was 2 for 2 and walked twice on Tuesday against the Mets, extending his hitting streak to eight games.
Analysis: Stanton is 11 for 29 (.379) during the streak with six extra-base hits and nine RBIs.
May 5 11:02 AM PT12:02 PM MT1:02 PM CT2:02 PM ET14:02 ET18:02 GMT2:02 11:02 AM MST1:02 PM EST1:32 PM VEN22:02 UAE1:02 PM CT-Stanton homered twice in Sunday's 5-4 walkoff win over the Dodgers.
Analysis: Stanton leads the NL with 10 long balls and 36 RBIs. He could be in for a career year if he stays healthy.
Apr. 30 2:11 PM PT3:11 PM MT4:11 PM CT5:11 PM ET17:11 ET21:11 GMT5:11 2:11 PM MST4:11 PM EST4:41 PM VEN1:11 UAE (+1)4:11 PM CT-Stanton hit his eighth homer of the season Tuesday against Atlanta.
Analysis: Stanton is in a bit of a lull, batting .147 over his last nine games though he has homered in two of his last three.
Apr. 27 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)10:05 PM CT-Stanton went deep in Saturday's 7-6, 10-inning road win over the Mets.
Analysis: Stanton's homer was his seventh of the season. He's hitting just .148 over the last seven games, though.
Apr. 19 10:47 AM PT11:47 AM MT12:47 PM CT1:47 PM ET13:47 ET17:47 GMT1:47 10:47 AM MST12:47 PM EST1:17 PM VEN21:47 UAE12:47 PM CT-Stanton hit a grand slam in the bottom of the ninth to redeem himself for a costly error early in the game, and the Miami Marlins beat the Seattle Mariners 8-4 Friday night.
Analysis: Stanton finished with five RBIs and is dominating baseball with 26 on the year. He's simply been outstanding.
Apr. 15 8:59 PM PT9:59 PM MT10:59 PM CT11:59 PM ET23:59 ET3:59 GMT11:59 8:59 PM MST10:59 PM EST11:29 PM VEN7:59 UAE (+1)10:59 PM CT-Stanton delivered for his fantasy owners on Tuesday.
Analysis: Stanton tied a career high with five RBIs, including a three-run homer. His OPS is up to a whopping 1.003.
Apr. 13 5:14 PM PT6:14 PM MT7:14 PM CT8:14 PM ET20:14 ET0:14 GMT8:14 5:14 PM MST7:14 PM EST7:44 PM VEN4:14 UAE (+1)7:14 PM CT-Stanton was 3 for 5 with his third and fourth home runs of the season Saturday against Philadelphia.
Analysis: Stanton is hitting .314 with 16 RBIs through his first 12 games.
Apr. 7 3:20 PM PT4:20 PM MT5:20 PM CT6:20 PM ET18:20 ET22:20 GMT6:20 3:20 PM MST5:20 PM EST5:50 PM VEN2:20 UAE (+1)5:20 PM CT-Stanton drove in a run in his seventh consecutive game but the Miami Marlins couldn't add to their best start in five years Sunday, falling 4-2 to visiting San Diego.
Analysis: Stanton pushed his RBI total to 12 in the fourth with a base hit to drive in Christian Yelich, who tripled to lead off the inning. Stanton already has a career-high RBI total for April. Stanton has posted nine RBIs in April in each of the last three years.
Apr. 6 11:00 AM PT12:00 PM MT1:00 PM CT2:00 PM ET14:00 ET18:00 GMT2:00 11:00 AM MST1:00 PM EST1:30 PM VEN22:00 UAE1:00 PM CT-Stanton had two more RBIs in a 5-0 win over San Diego on Saturday.
Analysis: Stanton increased his season total to 11, one more than teammate Casey McGehee, who began the day leading the NL. Stanton is 9 for 25 (.360) with three doubles, two homers and seven runs scored in his first six games. He also has an OPS of 1.149.
Apr. 5 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)5:41 PM CT-Stanton hit a long home run to help lead the Miami Marlins to an 8-2 win over the San Diego Padres on Friday night.
Analysis: Stanton's two-run blast traveled an estimated 458 feet to left field, nearly leaving the stadium and giving the Marlins a 2-0 lead in the first inning. It was Stanton's second home run. He has nine RBIs through five games while hitting .350.
Apr. 3 2:40 PM PT3:40 PM MT4:40 PM CT5:40 PM ET17:40 ET21:40 GMT5:40 2:40 PM MST4:40 PM EST5:10 PM VEN1:40 UAE (+1)4:40 PM CT-Stanton went 2 for 4 with a homer and three RBIs in Wednesday's 6-5 loss to Colorado.
Analysis: Stanton is batting .333 with six RBIs through the first three games.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Fla 100 359 45 93 21 1 22 59 34 123 5 2 .259 .326 .507
2011 Fla 150 516 79 135 30 5 34 87 70 166 5 5 .262 .356 .537
2012 Mia 123 449 75 130 30 1 37 86 46 143 6 2 .290 .361 .608
2013 Mia 116 425 62 106 26 0 24 62 74 140 1 0 .249 .365 .480
2014 Mia 145 539 89 155 31 1 37 105 94 170 13 1 .288 .395 .555
Career 634 2288 350 619 138 8 154 399 318 742 30 10 .271 .364 .540

Postseason


w4 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.

Latest Scores and Results