MLB Baseball

#30
Chris Tillman
ERA W-L K
7.66 1-7 60
Team: BaltimoreHt / Wt: 6-5 / 200 NFBC ADP: 326.21
Position: SPBorn: 4/15/1988 Birthplace: Anaheim, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 2nd Round by Mariners (2006)


Latest News
Sep. 16 5:31 PM PT6:31 PM MT7:31 PM CT8:31 PM ET20:31 ET0:31 GMT8:31 5:31 PM MST7:31 PM EST8:01 PM VEN4:31 UAE (+1)7:31 PM CT-Chris Tillman allowed one run on four hits in 3.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the New York Yankees 9-3 on Saturday. Tillman struck out one, ending the game with a 7.66 ERA and 1.90 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 8 8:14 PM PT9:14 PM MT10:14 PM CT11:14 PM ET23:14 ET3:14 GMT11:14 8:14 PM MST10:14 PM EST10:44 PM VEN7:14 UAE (+1)10:14 PM CT-Chris Tillman did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Cleveland Indians 5-0 on Friday. Tillman struck out one, ending the game with a 7.82 ERA and 1.92 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 3 4:13 PM PT5:13 PM MT6:13 PM CT7:13 PM ET19:13 ET23:13 GMT7:13 4:13 PM MST6:13 PM EST6:43 PM VEN3:13 UAE (+1)6:13 PM CT-Chris Tillman allowed three runs on three hits and three walks in 4.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 5-4 on Sunday. Tillman struck out two, ending the game with a 7.85 ERA and 1.92 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tillman is now winless in his past 18 starts. His last victory came on May 7 in his season debut. He had earned at least 10 wins in each of the past four seasons.
Aug. 28 7:31 PM PT8:31 PM MT9:31 PM CT10:31 PM ET22:31 ET2:31 GMT10:31 7:31 PM MST9:31 PM EST10:01 PM VEN6:31 UAE (+1)9:31 PM CT-Chris Tillman allowed six runs on three hits and four walks in 5.1 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Seattle Mariners 7-6 on Monday. Tillman struck out one, ending the game with a 7.91 ERA and 1.95 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Since winning his season debut on May 7, Tillman is 0-7 with an 8.71 ERA in 16 starts. He's completed six innings just three times in that span.
Aug. 20 4:16 PM PT5:16 PM MT6:16 PM CT7:16 PM ET19:16 ET23:16 GMT7:16 4:16 PM MST6:16 PM EST6:46 PM VEN3:16 UAE (+1)6:16 PM CT-Chris Tillman allowed four runs on four hits and six walks in 5.1 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Los Angeles Angels 5-4 on Sunday. Tillman struck out two, ending the game with a 7.75 ERA and 1.99 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Since winning his season debut on May 7, Tillman is 0-7 with an 8.60 ERA in 15 starts. He's walked 37 and struck out 49 over 67 innings in that span.
Aug. 16 5:33 PM PT6:33 PM MT7:33 PM CT8:33 PM ET20:33 ET0:33 GMT8:33 5:33 PM MST7:33 PM EST8:03 PM VEN4:33 UAE (+1)7:33 PM CT-Chris Tillman allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Seattle Mariners 7-6 on Wednesday. Tillman did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.83 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 13 6:31 PM PT7:31 PM MT8:31 PM CT9:31 PM ET21:31 ET1:31 GMT9:31 6:31 PM MST8:31 PM EST9:01 PM VEN5:31 UAE (+1)8:31 PM CT-Chris Tillman did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Oakland Athletics 9-3 on Sunday. Tillman struck out two, ending the game with a 7.94 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tillman, who was bumped from Baltimore's rotation following the trade for Jeremy Hellickson, made his first career relief appearance in the seventh inning after 194 starts.
Aug. 5 2:23 PM PT3:23 PM MT4:23 PM CT5:23 PM ET17:23 ET21:23 GMT5:23 2:23 PM MST4:23 PM EST4:53 PM VEN1:23 UAE (+1)4:23 PM CT-The Orioles have sent Tillman to the bullpen, where they hope he can regain the form that enabled him to anchor the rotation since 2013.
Analysis: Tillman began the season on the disabled list with a shoulder injury, won his first game on May 7, then went winless in his next 14 starts. He's 1-7 with an 8.10 ERA. Manager Buck Showalter hopes the move to the bullpen will help Tillman in the same fashion as Orioles righty Ubaldo Jimenez.
Aug. 4 7:34 AM PT8:34 AM MT9:34 AM CT10:34 AM ET10:34 ET14:34 GMT22:34 7:34 AM MST9:34 AM EST10:04 AM VEN18:34 UAE9:34 AM CT-Chris Tillman fell to 1-7, allowing seven runs - five earned - on six hits and two walks in 2.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Detroit Tigers 7-5 on Thursday. Tillman struck out one, ending the game with an 8.10 ERA and 2.04 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tillman has been demoted to the Orioles' bullpen.
July 29 11:08 AM PT12:08 PM MT1:08 PM CT2:08 PM ET14:08 ET18:08 GMT2:08 11:08 AM MST1:08 PM EST1:38 PM VEN22:08 UAE1:08 PM CT-Chris Tillman fell to 1-6, allowing eight runs on nine hits and two walks in 4.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Texas Rangers 8-2 on Friday. Tillman struck out six, ending the game with a 7.65 ERA and 1.98 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tillman and the road have made for a very bad combination, as he's 0-3 with a 13.27 ERA in five away starts as opposing hitters have walloped him for a .443 average. Then again, he hasn't been very good at home either, as the 7.65 overall ERA and 13-start winless streak the once-successful hurler brings into Wednesday's matchup with the red-hot Royals will attest.
July 23 10:10 PM PT11:10 PM MT12:10 AM CT1:10 AM ET1:10 ET5:10 GMT13:10 10:10 PM MST12:10 AM EST12:40 AM VEN9:10 UAE12:10 AM CT-Chris Tillman allowed three runs on six hits in 5.1 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Houston Astros 8-4 on Saturday. Tillman struck out five, ending the game with a 7.01 ERA and 1.94 WHIP on the season.
July 17 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Chris Tillman allowed one run on two hits and four walks in 6.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Texas Rangers 3-1 on Monday. Tillman struck out three, ending the game with a 7.20 ERA and 2.02 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tillman notched his first quality start since June 4 but remains winless since his season debut on May 7.
July 4 12:10 PM PT1:10 PM MT2:10 PM CT3:10 PM ET15:10 ET19:10 GMT3:10 12:10 PM MST2:10 PM EST2:40 PM VEN23:10 UAE2:10 PM CT-Tillman was taken off the paternity list Saturday after missing his start Wednesday in Milwaukee.
Analysis: Tillman allowed two runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Orioles lost to the Rays in 10 last Friday. Tillman had his best start since his season debut May 7, but he's 0-5 with an 8.80 ERA in his last 10 outings.
June 30 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Chris Tillman allowed two runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 6-4 on Friday. Tillman struck out five, ending the game with a 7.90 ERA and 2.14 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tillman had his best start since his season debut on May 7 but is 0-5 with an 8.80 ERA in his last 10 starts.
June 25 4:29 PM PT5:29 PM MT6:29 PM CT7:29 PM ET19:29 ET23:29 GMT7:29 4:29 PM MST6:29 PM EST6:59 PM VEN3:29 UAE (+1)6:29 PM CT-Chris Tillman allowed five runs - four earned - on eight hits and two walks in 4.1 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 8-5 on Sunday. Tillman struck out five, ending the game with an 8.39 ERA and 2.18 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tillman is 0-5 with a 9.46 ERA in his last nine starts. He's pitched six innings just twice in 10 outings this season.
June 20 8:30 PM PT9:30 PM MT10:30 PM CT11:30 PM ET23:30 ET3:30 GMT11:30 8:30 PM MST10:30 PM EST11:00 PM VEN7:30 UAE (+1)10:30 PM CT-Chris Tillman allowed five runs on eight hits and three walks in 4.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Cleveland Indians 6-5 on Tuesday. Tillman did not strike out a batter, ending the game with an 8.39 ERA and 2.17 WHIP on the season.
June 15 3:37 PM PT4:37 PM MT5:37 PM CT6:37 PM ET18:37 ET22:37 GMT6:37 3:37 PM MST5:37 PM EST6:07 PM VEN2:37 UAE (+1)5:37 PM CT-Tillman fell to 1-5, allowing five runs on 11 hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Chicago White Sox 5-2 on Thursday. Tillman struck out six, ending the game with an 8.07 ERA and 2.10 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tillman lost his fifth straight start, and has been pounded for 28 runs and 40 hits over 20 1/3 innings during his skid.
June 10 8:09 PM PT9:09 PM MT10:09 PM CT11:09 PM ET23:09 ET3:09 GMT11:09 8:09 PM MST10:09 PM EST10:39 PM VEN7:09 UAE (+1)10:09 PM CT-Chris Tillman fell to 1-4, allowing a career-high nine runs on seven hits and three walks in 1.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the New York Yankees 16-3 on Saturday. Tillman struck out one, ending the game with an 8.01 ERA and 2.08 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Since beating the White Sox in his season debut, Tillman is 0-4 with a 9.59 ERA in six starts. He's allowed seven home runs in his last three starts over just 10 innings.
June 4 4:12 PM PT5:12 PM MT6:12 PM CT7:12 PM ET19:12 ET23:12 GMT7:12 4:12 PM MST6:12 PM EST6:42 PM VEN3:12 UAE (+1)6:12 PM CT-Chris Tillman fell to 1-3, allowing five runs - three earned - on six hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Boston Red Sox 7-3 on Sunday. Tillman struck out three, ending the game with a 5.59 ERA and 1.83 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Another lackluster performance from the Orioles' expected ace, who's surrendered 12 earned runs, 22 hits and eight walks over 13 2/3 innings in losing his last three starts. Tillman will be hard to trust when he next takes the mound Saturday at Yankee Stadium, where he owns a career 6.34 ERA.
May 30 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-Chris Tillman fell to 1-2, allowing five runs on seven hits and two walks in 2.2 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the New York Yankees 8-3 on Tuesday. Tillman struck out one, ending the game with a 5.87 ERA and 1.87 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Tillman didn't give up a home run in any of his first five starts since returning from a sore shoulder, but the Yankees took him deep three times in this brief outing. Now 0-2 with a 7.50 ERA over his last four assignments, the right-hander will be a highly risky proposition when he next takes the mound Sunday at home versus the Red Sox.
May 24 1:19 PM PT2:19 PM MT3:19 PM CT4:19 PM ET16:19 ET20:19 GMT4:19 1:19 PM MST3:19 PM EST3:49 PM VEN0:19 UAE (+1)3:19 PM CT-Tillman fell to 1-1, allowing four runs on nine hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Minnesota Twins 4-3 on Wednesday.
Analysis: Tillman struck out three, ending the game with a 4.43 ERA and 1.67 WHIP on the season.
May 20 9:41 PM PT10:41 PM MT11:41 PM CT12:41 AM ET0:41 ET4:41 GMT12:41 9:41 PM MST11:41 PM EST12:11 AM VEN8:41 UAE11:41 PM CT-Chris Tillman allowed three runs on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 5-3 on Friday. Tillman struck out four, ending the game with a 3.52 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
May 13 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)9:36 PM CT-Chris Tillman allowed three runs on eight hits and two walks in 4.1 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Kansas City Royals 4-3 on Saturday. Tillman struck out four, ending the game with a 2.89 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
May 7 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)4:46 PM CT-Tillman improved to 1-0, allowing three hits and three walks over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Chicago White Sox 4-0 on Sunday. Tillman struck out four, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Sidelined since March with right shoulder bursitis, Tillman came off the disabled list to join an unstable rotation in need of another arm. After walking the first two batters and working out of a bases-loaded jam in the first, Tillman bounced back nicely in his first appearance since the 2016 AL wild-card game.
Feb. 14 3:30 PM PT4:30 PM MT5:30 PM CT6:30 PM ET18:30 ET23:30 GMT7:30 4:30 PM MST6:30 PM EST7:00 PM VEN3:30 UAE (+1)5:30 PM CT-Tillman (right shoulder bursitis) is making his season debut Sunday against the White Sox.
Analysis: The 16-game winner in 2016 was pronounced good to go after throwing 91 pitches in a rehab start for Triple-A Norfolk on Tuesday. Tillman recorded a 4.61 ERA at Camden Yards last season, a good deal higher than his 2.97 mark on the road.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2009 Bal 2 5 0 - 0 12 12 0 65.0 77 40 39 15 24 1 39 1.55 5.40
2010 Bal 2 5 0 - 0 11 11 0 53.2 51 37 35 9 31 1 31 1.53 5.87
2011 Bal 3 5 0 - 0 13 13 0 62.0 77 41 38 5 25 0 46 1.65 5.52
2012 Bal 9 3 0 - 0 15 15 0 86.0 66 38 28 12 24 0 66 1.05 2.93
2013 Bal 16 7 0 - 0 33 33 1 206.1 184 87 85 33 68 2 179 1.22 3.71
2014 Bal 13 6 0 - 0 34 34 1 207.1 189 83 77 21 66 1 150 1.23 3.34
2015 Bal 11 11 0 - 0 31 31 0 173.0 176 97 96 20 64 1 120 1.39 4.99
2016 Bal 16 6 0 - 0 30 30 0 172.0 155 73 72 19 66 1 140 1.28 3.77
2017 Bal 1 7 0 - 0 22 18 0 87.0 118 79 74 21 47 0 60 1.90 7.66
Career 73 55 0 - 0 201 197 2 1112.1 1093 575 544 155 415 7 831 1.36 4.40

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Bal 11 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Bal 33 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Bal 34 4 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Bal 31 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Bal 30 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 201 14 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 7 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2014 Bal Total 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 9.1 11 7 7 3 3 0 9 6.75
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 4 2 2 2 1 0 6 3.60
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 7 5 5 1 2 0 3 10.38
2016 Bal Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 4 2 2 1 1 0 4 4.15
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 4 2 2 1 1 0 4 4.15
Career 1 0 0 - 0 3 3 0 13.2 15 9 9 4 4 0 13 5.93


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 846 95 84 90.7 50.27
Curveball 144 79 71 75.7 8.56
Slider 435 91 79 85.3 25.85
Changeup 258 88 79 83.8 15.33

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Latest Scores and Results