MLB Baseball

#25
Junichi Tazawa
ERA S K
5.69 0 38
Team: MiamiHt / Wt: 6-2 / 208 NFBC ADP: 700.48
Position: RPBorn: 6/6/1986 Birthplace: Yokohama, Japan
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Red Sox (2008)


Latest News
Oct. 2 10:23 AM PT11:23 AM MT12:23 PM CT1:23 PM ET13:23 ET17:23 GMT1:23 10:23 AM MST12:23 PM EST12:53 PM VEN21:23 UAE12:23 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa fell to 3-5, allowing three runs on three hits in 0.2 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Atlanta Braves 8-5 on Sunday. Tazawa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.69 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 29 8:40 PM PT9:40 PM MT10:40 PM CT11:40 PM ET23:40 ET3:40 GMT11:40 8:40 PM MST10:40 PM EST11:10 PM VEN7:40 UAE (+1)10:40 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Atlanta Braves 6-5 on Friday. Tazawa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.27 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 23 10:29 AM PT11:29 AM MT12:29 PM CT1:29 PM ET13:29 ET17:29 GMT1:29 10:29 AM MST12:29 PM EST12:59 PM VEN21:29 UAE12:29 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 13-11 on Friday. Tazawa struck out one, ending the game with a 4.92 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 15 8:52 AM PT9:52 AM MT10:52 AM CT11:52 AM ET11:52 ET15:52 GMT23:52 8:52 AM MST10:52 AM EST11:22 AM VEN19:52 UAE10:52 AM CT-Junichi Tazawa did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 10-0 on Thursday. Tazawa struck out two, ending the game with a 5.26 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 6 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa allowed one run on two hits in 2.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Washington Nationals 8-1 on Wednesday. Tazawa struck out one, ending the game with a 5.80 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 3 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)4:39 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa fell to 3-4, allowing two runs on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 3-1 on Sunday. Tazawa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.86 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 29 8:14 PM PT9:14 PM MT10:14 PM CT11:14 PM ET23:14 ET3:14 GMT11:14 8:14 PM MST10:14 PM EST10:44 PM VEN7:14 UAE (+1)10:14 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa allowed three runs on two hits and two walks in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Washington Nationals 8-3 on Tuesday. Tazawa struck out one, ending the game with a 5.57 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 26 8:24 PM PT9:24 PM MT10:24 PM CT11:24 PM ET23:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)10:24 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa improved to 3-3, allowing one hit over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Miami Marlins defeated the San Diego Padres 2-1 on Saturday. Tazawa struck out one, ending the game with a 5.05 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 24 1:40 PM PT2:40 PM MT3:40 PM CT4:40 PM ET16:40 ET20:40 GMT4:40 1:40 PM MST3:40 PM EST4:10 PM VEN0:40 UAE (+1)3:40 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 9-8 on Thursday. Tazawa struck out one, ending the game with a 5.18 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 23 8:56 PM PT9:56 PM MT10:56 PM CT11:56 PM ET23:56 ET3:56 GMT11:56 8:56 PM MST10:56 PM EST11:26 PM VEN7:56 UAE (+1)10:56 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 8-0 on Wednesday. Tazawa struck out two, ending the game with a 5.31 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 22 4:44 PM PT5:44 PM MT6:44 PM CT7:44 PM ET19:44 ET23:44 GMT7:44 4:44 PM MST6:44 PM EST7:14 PM VEN3:44 UAE (+1)6:44 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 12-8 on Tuesday. Tazawa struck out one, ending the game with a 5.45 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 19 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)10:35 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the New York Mets 8-1 on Saturday. Tazawa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.35 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 15 8:52 PM PT9:52 PM MT10:52 PM CT11:52 PM ET23:52 ET3:52 GMT11:52 8:52 PM MST10:52 PM EST11:22 PM VEN7:52 UAE (+1)10:52 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa fell to 2-3, allowing three runs on four hits without recording an out, as the Miami Marlins lost to the San Francisco Giants 9-4 on Tuesday. Tazawa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 13 2:28 PM PT3:28 PM MT4:28 PM CT5:28 PM ET17:28 ET21:28 GMT5:28 2:28 PM MST4:28 PM EST4:58 PM VEN1:28 UAE (+1)4:28 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the Colorado Rockies 5-3 on Sunday. Tazawa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.66 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 11 8:14 PM PT9:14 PM MT10:14 PM CT11:14 PM ET23:14 ET3:14 GMT11:14 8:14 PM MST10:14 PM EST10:44 PM VEN7:14 UAE (+1)10:14 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa improved to 2-2, allowing no hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Miami Marlins defeated the Colorado Rockies 6-3 on Friday. Tazawa struck out one, ending the game with a 4.79 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 6 1:39 PM PT2:39 PM MT3:39 PM CT4:39 PM ET16:39 ET20:39 GMT4:39 1:39 PM MST3:39 PM EST4:09 PM VEN0:39 UAE (+1)3:39 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the Atlanta Braves 4-1 on Sunday. Tazawa struck out one, ending the game with a 4.96 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
July 28 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)10:16 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the Cincinnati Reds 7-4 on Friday. Tazawa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.28 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
July 27 7:49 PM PT8:49 PM MT9:49 PM CT10:49 PM ET22:49 ET2:49 GMT10:49 7:49 PM MST9:49 PM EST10:19 PM VEN6:49 UAE (+1)9:49 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa allowed one run on three hits in 0.2 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Cincinnati Reds 4-1 on Thursday. Tazawa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.16 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
July 23 9:03 PM PT10:03 PM MT11:03 PM CT12:03 AM ET0:03 ET4:03 GMT12:03 9:03 PM MST11:03 PM EST11:33 PM VEN8:03 UAE11:03 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the Cincinnati Reds 5-4 on Saturday. Tazawa struck out one, ending the game with a 4.97 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
July 22 9:14 PM PT10:14 PM MT11:14 PM CT12:14 AM ET0:14 ET4:14 GMT12:14 9:14 PM MST11:14 PM EST11:44 PM VEN8:14 UAE11:14 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the Cincinnati Reds 3-1 on Friday. Tazawa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.82 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
July 18 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 5-2 on Tuesday. Tazawa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.00 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
July 17 8:44 PM PT9:44 PM MT10:44 PM CT11:44 PM ET23:44 ET3:44 GMT11:44 8:44 PM MST10:44 PM EST11:14 PM VEN7:44 UAE (+1)10:44 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 6-5 on Monday. Tazawa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.19 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
July 15 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)10:29 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 7-1 on Saturday. Tazawa struck out two, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
July 14 7:54 PM PT8:54 PM MT9:54 PM CT10:54 PM ET22:54 ET2:54 GMT10:54 7:54 PM MST9:54 PM EST10:24 PM VEN6:54 UAE (+1)9:54 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 6-4 on Friday. Tazawa struck out one, ending the game with a 5.63 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
July 10 7:33 AM PT8:33 AM MT9:33 AM CT10:33 AM ET10:33 ET14:33 GMT22:33 7:33 AM MST9:33 AM EST10:03 AM VEN18:33 UAE9:33 AM CT-Junichi Tazawa did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the San Francisco Giants 10-8 on Sunday. Tazawa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.87 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
July 6 2:18 PM PT3:18 PM MT4:18 PM CT5:18 PM ET17:18 ET21:18 GMT5:18 2:18 PM MST4:18 PM EST4:48 PM VEN1:18 UAE (+1)4:18 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 4-3 on Thursday. Tazawa struck out one, ending the game with a 6.04 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
July 3 8:13 PM PT9:13 PM MT10:13 PM CT11:13 PM ET23:13 ET3:13 GMT11:13 8:13 PM MST10:13 PM EST10:43 PM VEN7:13 UAE (+1)10:13 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 14-6 on Monday. Tazawa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.33 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
June 29 9:02 AM PT10:02 AM MT11:02 AM CT12:02 PM ET12:02 ET16:02 GMT0:02 9:02 AM MST11:02 AM EST11:32 AM VEN20:02 UAE11:02 AM CT-Junichi Tazawa allowed two runs on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the New York Mets 8-0 on Wednesday. Tazawa struck out two, ending the game with a 7.50 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
June 24 4:48 PM PT5:48 PM MT6:48 PM CT7:48 PM ET19:48 ET23:48 GMT7:48 4:48 PM MST6:48 PM EST7:18 PM VEN3:48 UAE (+1)6:48 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Chicago Cubs 5-3 on Saturday. Tazawa struck out one, ending the game with a 6.88 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
June 23 9:10 PM PT10:10 PM MT11:10 PM CT12:10 AM ET0:10 ET4:10 GMT12:10 9:10 PM MST11:10 PM EST11:40 PM VEN8:10 UAE11:10 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa allowed two runs on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Chicago Cubs 11-1 on Thursday. Tazawa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.31 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
June 22 12:06 PM PT1:06 PM MT2:06 PM CT3:06 PM ET15:06 ET19:06 GMT3:06 12:06 PM MST2:06 PM EST2:36 PM VEN23:06 UAE2:06 PM CT-The Marlins activated Tazawa from the disabled list prior to Thursday's game against the Cubs.
Analysis: The reliever had been sidelined since mid-May by a rib cage injury. Tazawa's first season in Miami wasn't going well even before he got hurt, as he owns a 6.60 ERA in 16 appearances.
May 16 9:01 PM PT10:01 PM MT11:01 PM CT12:01 AM ET0:01 ET4:01 GMT12:01 9:01 PM MST11:01 PM EST11:31 PM VEN8:01 UAE11:01 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa fell to 1-1, allowing four runs on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Houston Astros 7-2 on Monday. Tazawa struck out one, ending the game with a 6.60 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
May 7 9:13 AM PT10:13 AM MT11:13 AM CT12:13 PM ET12:13 ET16:13 GMT0:13 9:13 AM MST11:13 AM EST11:43 AM VEN20:13 UAE11:13 AM CT-Junichi Tazawa did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the New York Mets 11-3 on Saturday. Tazawa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
May 5 9:18 AM PT10:18 AM MT11:18 AM CT12:18 PM ET12:18 ET16:18 GMT0:18 9:18 AM MST11:18 AM EST11:48 AM VEN20:18 UAE11:18 AM CT-Junichi Tazawa did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-1 on Thursday. Tazawa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.06 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
May 1 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)10:03 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 4-2 on Monday. Tazawa struck out two, ending the game with a 5.59 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 7:47 PM PT8:47 PM MT9:47 PM CT10:47 PM ET22:47 ET2:47 GMT10:47 7:47 PM MST9:47 PM EST10:17 PM VEN6:47 UAE (+1)9:47 PM CT-Junichi Tazawa did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-0 on Saturday. Tazawa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.19 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 11:45 PM PT12:45 AM MT1:45 AM CT2:45 AM ET2:45 ET6:45 GMT14:45 11:45 PM MST1:45 AM EST2:15 AM VEN10:45 UAE1:45 AM CT-Junichi Tazawa walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 12-2 on Friday. Tazawa struck out one, ending the game with a 5.87 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2009 Bos 2 3 0 - 0 6 4 0 25.1 43 23 21 4 9 0 13 2.05 7.46
2011 Bos 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 3.0 3 2 2 1 1 0 4 1.33 6.00
2012 Bos 1 1 1 - 1 37 0 0 44.0 37 7 7 1 5 0 45 0.95 1.43
2013 Bos 5 4 0 - 8 71 0 0 68.1 70 25 24 9 12 1 72 1.20 3.16
2014 Bos 4 3 0 - 5 71 0 0 63.0 58 23 20 5 17 1 64 1.19 2.86
2015 Bos 2 7 3 - 10 61 0 0 58.2 65 28 27 5 13 1 56 1.33 4.14
2016 Bos 3 2 0 - 2 53 0 0 49.2 47 23 23 9 14 1 54 1.23 4.17
2017 Mia 3 5 0 - 3 55 0 0 55.1 55 35 35 8 22 4 38 1.39 5.69
Career 20 25 4 - 29 357 4 0 367.1 378 166 159 42 93 8 346 1.28 3.90

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2017 Mia 55 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 357 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 Bos Total 1 0 0 - 0 13 0 0 7.1 6 1 1 0 1 0 6 1.23
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 2.1 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 2.2 4 1 1 0 0 0 1 3.38
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 5 0 0 2.1 1 0 0 0 1 0 3 0.00
Career 1 0 0 - 0 13 0 0 7.1 6 1 1 0 1 0 6 1.23


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 545 95 89 92.8 56.65
Curveball 83 78 70 74.6 8.63
Slider 87 82 76 78.5 9.04
Split-Finger 247 90 84 87.3 25.68

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Latest Scores and Results