Baseball

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#18
Jonathon Niese
ERA W-L K
4.95 8-6 75
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-3 / 215 NFBC ADP: 366.29
Position: SPBorn: 10/27/1986 Birthplace: Lima, Ohio
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 7th Round by Mets (2005)


Latest News
July 15 2:20 PM PT3:20 PM MT4:20 PM CT5:20 PM ET17:20 ET21:20 GMT5:20 2:20 PM MST4:20 PM EST4:50 PM VEN1:20 UAE (+1)4:20 PM CT-Niese has been demoted to the bullpen following a poor first half of the season, his first with the Pirates.
Analysis: Niese is 7-6 with a 5.13 ERA in 18 starts with 20 home runs allowed - second-most in the NL. He was particularly bad over his last six outings, going 1-4 with a 7.92 ERA.
June 29 8:08 AM PT9:08 AM MT10:08 AM CT11:08 AM ET11:08 ET15:08 GMT23:08 8:08 AM MST10:08 AM EST10:38 AM VEN19:08 UAE10:08 AM CT-Niese didn't make it out of the fifth for his shortest outing of the season, allowing five runs and nine hits in the Pirates' 5-2 loss to the Mariners on Tuesday.
Analysis: After a five-start stretch in which he didn't allow more than two runs, Niese is 0-4 with an 8.86 ERA over his last four outings.
June 24 8:27 AM PT9:27 AM MT10:27 AM CT11:27 AM ET11:27 ET15:27 GMT23:27 8:27 AM MST10:27 AM EST10:57 AM VEN19:27 UAE10:27 AM CT-Niese was tagged for five runs in six innings in the Pirates' 5-3 loss to the Giants on Thursday.
Analysis: Niese gave up his NL-high 18th homer and has a 9.18 ERA in his last three starts - all against some of the NL's best offenses - after a solid five-start stretch against some weaker competition.
June 7 5:19 PM PT6:19 PM MT7:19 PM CT8:19 PM ET20:19 ET0:19 GMT8:19 5:19 PM MST7:19 PM EST7:49 PM VEN4:19 UAE (+1)7:19 PM CT-Niese improved to 3-0 with a 1.74 ERA in his last five starts as the Pirates beat the Mets 3-1 on Tuesday in the first game of a doubleheader.
Analysis: Niese pitched seven scoreless innings and allowed four hits with two walks.
May 28 8:25 AM PT9:25 AM MT10:25 AM CT11:25 AM ET11:25 ET15:25 GMT23:25 8:25 AM MST10:25 AM EST10:55 AM VEN19:25 UAE10:25 AM CT-Niese outpitched Cole Hamels with six strong innings Friday.
Analysis: Niese threw five shutout innings before Adrian Beltre's leadoff homer in the sixth. The left-hander scattered seven hits with a walk and two strikeouts.
May 22 9:50 AM PT10:50 AM MT11:50 AM CT12:50 PM ET12:50 ET16:50 GMT0:50 9:50 AM MST11:50 AM EST12:20 PM VEN20:50 UAE11:50 AM CT-Niese held Colorado to one run and four hits in Saturday's seven-inning no-decision.
Analysis: It's the third straight quality start for the left-hander, who owns a 2.75 ERA over that span. Niese posted a 5.94 ERA through his first six starts.
Apr. 17 4:16 PM PT5:16 PM MT6:16 PM CT7:16 PM ET19:16 ET23:16 GMT7:16 4:16 PM MST6:16 PM EST6:46 PM VEN3:16 UAE (+1)6:16 PM CT-Niese gave up three hits over seven innings in Saturday's 5-0 win over the Brewers.
Analysis: Niese has gotten off to a solid start, going 2-0 with a 3.50 ERA in three starts.
Mar. 3 1:49 PM PT2:49 PM MT3:49 PM CT4:49 PM ET16:49 ET21:49 GMT5:49 2:49 PM MST4:49 PM EST5:19 PM VEN1:49 UAE (+1)3:49 PM CT-Niese was hit hard in Thursday's spring debut.
Analysis: The offseason acquisition was tagged for four runs and five hits in two innings of work in the Pirates' loss to Toronto. Niese was traded to the Pirates by the Mets in December for second baseman Neil Walker.

w11 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.

Latest Scores and Results