Baseball

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#11
Clay Buchholz
ERA W-L K
5.00 8-10 87
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-3 / 190 NFBC ADP: 279.70
Position: SPBorn: 8/14/1984 Birthplace: Nederland, Texas
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: Supplemental Round by Red Sox (2005)


Latest News
Sep. 21 7:19 PM PT8:19 PM MT9:19 PM CT10:19 PM ET22:19 ET2:19 GMT10:19 7:19 PM MST9:19 PM EST9:49 PM VEN6:19 UAE (+1)9:19 PM CT-Buchholz (8-10) allowed one run and three hits over seven innings for the Red Sox in Wednesday's 5-1 win over Baltimore.
Analysis: Buchholz has a 3.09 ERA while going 4-0 in his last six starts.
Sep. 16 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)10:22 PM CT-Buchholz bounced back from a poor outing by allowing two runs over six innings to beat the Yankees on Friday.
Analysis: The right-hander was coming off a six-run debacle over three innings in Toronto on Sunday. In 19 starts this season, Buchholz is 5-8 with a 5.56 ERA.
Sep. 11 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Buchholz returned to being ineffective in Sunday's start at Toronto, where he was rocked for six runs and walked four in three innings of the Red Sox's 11-8 win.
Analysis: Buchholz was coming off a strong outing Tuesday in San Diego, in which he held the Padres to one run through 6 2/3 innings of a 5-1 Boston win. The erratic right-hander will try to rebound when he faces the surging Yankees Friday in Fenway Park.
Sep. 4 10:18 AM PT11:18 AM MT12:18 PM CT1:18 PM ET13:18 ET17:18 GMT1:18 10:18 AM MST12:18 PM EST12:48 PM VEN21:18 UAE12:18 PM CT-Buchholz boosted his case to remain in Boston's rotation, giving up a run and eight hits in 6 2/3 innings with no walks and six strikeouts to beat San Diego on Tuesday.
Analysis: Buchholz was starting in place of Steven Wright, who remains sidelined with bursitis in his right shoulder. Since the All-Star break, Buchholz has mostly come out of the bullpen despite going 2-0 with a 2.31 ERA in four starts.
Aug. 23 7:31 PM PT8:31 PM MT9:31 PM CT10:31 PM ET22:31 ET2:31 GMT10:31 7:31 PM MST9:31 PM EST10:01 PM VEN6:31 UAE (+1)9:31 PM CT-Buchholz allowed one run and five hits while striking out a season-high nine over 6 1/3 innings in Tuesday's 2-1 win over the Rays.
Analysis: The veteran right-hander, in the midst of a disappointing season, has given up two runs over 12 1/3 innings in his last two starts.
Aug. 18 3:02 PM PT4:02 PM MT5:02 PM CT6:02 PM ET18:02 ET22:02 GMT6:02 3:02 PM MST5:02 PM EST5:32 PM VEN2:02 UAE (+1)5:02 PM CT-Buchholz was solid Thursday in his second start since returning to the rotation, allowing one run over six innings while not receiving a decision as the Red Sox lost to the Tigers.
Analysis: The right-hander is 2-8 with a 5.95 ERA in 15 starts this season and 2-1 with a 3.20 ERA in 13 relief appearances.
Aug. 14 9:47 PM PT10:47 PM MT11:47 PM CT12:47 AM ET0:47 ET4:47 GMT12:47 9:47 PM MST11:47 PM EST12:17 AM VEN8:47 UAE11:47 PM CT-Buchholz gave up three runs over 4 1/3 innings in a spot start as the Red Sox beat Arizona 6-3 on Saturday.
Analysis: Demoted to the bullpen twice this season, Buchholz made his first start since early July on the eve of his 32nd birthday because knuckleballer Steven Wright was scratched on Thursday after jamming his pitching shoulder diving back into second during an interleague game.
June 18 4:58 PM PT5:58 PM MT6:58 PM CT7:58 PM ET19:58 ET23:58 GMT7:58 4:58 PM MST6:58 PM EST7:28 PM VEN3:58 UAE (+1)6:58 PM CT-Buchholz lost in his return to the Red Sox rotation Tuesday. He gave up only four hits, but two were home runs as he allowed three runs in five innings of a 3-1 loss to the White Sox.
Analysis: Buchholz was removed from the rotation in late May after posting a 6.35 ERA through 10 starts, but he had thrown five scoreless innings over his last three relief appearances.
May 27 4:16 PM PT5:16 PM MT6:16 PM CT7:16 PM ET19:16 ET23:16 GMT7:16 4:16 PM MST6:16 PM EST6:46 PM VEN3:16 UAE (+1)6:16 PM CT-Buchholz is being moved to the bullpen and left-hander Eduardo Rodriguez will take his spot in the rotation, starting Tuesday at Baltimore.
Analysis: Buchholz is 2-5 with a 6.35 ERA in 10 starts and has allowed five earned runs or more six times. He gave up season-highs of six runs and three home runs in Thursday's 8-2 loss to Colorado.
May 27 2:56 PM PT3:56 PM MT4:56 PM CT5:56 PM ET17:56 ET21:56 GMT5:56 2:56 PM MST4:56 PM EST5:26 PM VEN1:56 UAE (+1)4:56 PM CT-Buchholz took the loss Thursday.
Analysis: Buchholz pitched three perfect innings before things came apart in the fourth, when he gave up Carlos Gonzalez's homer with the other two coming the following inning. He was tagged for six runs.
May 21 11:47 AM PT12:47 PM MT1:47 PM CT2:47 PM ET14:47 ET18:47 GMT2:47 11:47 AM MST1:47 PM EST2:17 PM VEN22:47 UAE1:47 PM CT-Buchholz fell to 2-4 on Friday.
Analysis: Buchholz gave up four runs - three earned - on five hits in six innings, walking four and striking out three. He has an awful 5.92 ERA.
May 5 3:57 PM PT4:57 PM MT5:57 PM CT6:57 PM ET18:57 ET22:57 GMT6:57 3:57 PM MST5:57 PM EST6:27 PM VEN2:57 UAE (+1)5:57 PM CT-Buchholz threw seven solid innings Wednesday to finally claim his first win of 2016.
Analysis: Buchholz, 0-3 with a 6.51 ERA in five starts preceding Wednesday's outing with the White Sox, held Chicago to two runs and three hits while striking out six in a much-needed sharp effort.
Apr. 29 3:58 PM PT4:58 PM MT5:58 PM CT6:58 PM ET18:58 ET22:58 GMT6:58 3:58 PM MST5:58 PM EST6:28 PM VEN2:58 UAE (+1)5:58 PM CT-Buchholz's woes continued in a 5-3 loss to lowly Atlanta on Thursday night.
Analysis: Buchholz (0-3, 6.51 ERA) gave up five runs in 6 1/3 innings. He has allowed five runs in four of his five starts.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2007 Bos 3 1 0 - 0 4 3 1 22.2 14 6 4 0 10 0 22 1.06 1.59
2008 Bos 2 9 0 - 0 16 15 1 76.0 93 63 57 11 41 1 72 1.76 6.75
2009 Bos 7 4 0 - 0 16 16 0 92.0 91 44 43 13 36 1 68 1.38 4.21
2010 Bos 17 7 0 - 0 28 28 1 173.2 142 55 45 9 67 1 120 1.20 2.33
2011 Bos 6 3 0 - 0 14 14 0 82.2 76 34 32 10 31 1 60 1.29 3.48
2012 Bos 11 8 0 - 0 29 29 2 189.1 187 104 96 25 64 2 129 1.33 4.56
2013 Bos 12 1 0 - 0 16 16 1 108.1 75 23 21 4 36 0 96 1.02 1.74
2014 Bos 8 11 0 - 0 28 28 2 170.1 182 108 101 17 54 2 132 1.39 5.34
2015 Bos 7 7 0 - 0 18 18 1 113.1 114 48 41 6 23 0 107 1.21 3.26
2016 Bos 8 10 0 - 0 36 20 0 133.1 129 80 74 21 53 1 87 1.37 5.00
Career 81 61 0 - 0 205 187 9 1161.2 1103 565 514 116 415 9 893 1.31 3.98

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Bos 28 1 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1.000 1.000 1.000
2012 Bos 29 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Bos 28 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .500 .500 .500
2015 Bos 18 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Bos 36 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .000 .333 .000
Career 206 13 0 2 0 0 0 0 1 5 0 0 .154 .214 .154

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2009 Bos Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 6 2 2 1 1 0 3 3.60
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 6 2 2 1 1 0 3 3.60
2013 Bos Total 0 0 0 - 0 4 4 0 20.2 22 11 10 3 8 1 17 4.35
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 7 3 3 1 3 0 5 4.50
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 10.2 12 7 7 2 2 0 10 5.91
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 3 1 0 0 3 1 2 0.00
Career 0 0 0 - 0 5 5 0 25.2 28 13 12 4 9 1 20 4.21

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Bos Total 4 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 5 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 877 95 88 92.1 41.06
Curveball 397 82 73 78 18.59
Changeup 351 84 76 80.8 16.43
Split-Finger 25 88 84 85.2 1.17
Cut Fastball 486 92 82 88.7 22.75

w10 © 2016 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.

Latest Scores and Results