MLB Baseball

#45
Phil Hughes
ERA W-L K
6.75 0-0 8
Team: MinnesotaHt / Wt: 6-5 / 238
Position: SPBorn: 6/24/1986 Birthplace: Mission Viejo, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Yankees (2004)


Latest News
May 18 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Phil Hughes allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 8-3 on Friday. Hughes struck out one, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
May 16 2:04 PM PT3:04 PM MT4:04 PM CT5:04 PM ET17:04 ET21:04 GMT5:04 2:04 PM MST4:04 PM EST4:34 PM VEN1:04 UAE (+1)4:04 PM CT-Phil Hughes allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Minnesota Twins lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 7-5 on Wednesday. Hughes struck out one, ending the game with a 6.55 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
May 14 8:46 PM PT9:46 PM MT10:46 PM CT11:46 PM ET23:46 ET3:46 GMT11:46 8:46 PM MST10:46 PM EST11:16 PM VEN7:46 UAE (+1)10:46 PM CT-Phil Hughes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Seattle Mariners 1-0 on Monday. Hughes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.30 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
May 8 1:12 PM PT2:12 PM MT3:12 PM CT4:12 PM ET16:12 ET20:12 GMT4:12 1:12 PM MST3:12 PM EST3:42 PM VEN0:12 UAE (+1)3:12 PM CT-Phil Hughes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Minnesota Twins defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 7-1 on Tuesday. Hughes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.00 ERA and 1.67 WHIP on the season.
May 5 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Phil Hughes allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Minnesota Twins defeated the Chicago White Sox 8-4 on Saturday. Hughes struck out one, ending the game with a 7.88 ERA and 1.88 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 9:15 PM PT10:15 PM MT11:15 PM CT12:15 AM ET0:15 ET4:15 GMT12:15 9:15 PM MST11:15 PM EST11:45 PM VEN8:15 UAE11:15 PM CT-Phil Hughes allowed four runs on five hits and two walks in 3.2 innings as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Cincinnati Reds 15-9 on Friday. Hughes struck out three, ending the game with a 7.71 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 1:52 PM PT2:52 PM MT3:52 PM CT4:52 PM ET16:52 ET20:52 GMT4:52 1:52 PM MST3:52 PM EST4:22 PM VEN0:52 UAE (+1)3:52 PM CT-Phil Hughes allowed two runs on five hits and two walks in 3.1 innings as the Minnesota Twins lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 8-6 on Sunday. Hughes struck out two, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 2.10 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 27 1:43 PM PT2:43 PM MT3:43 PM CT4:43 PM ET16:43 ET20:43 GMT4:43 1:43 PM MST3:43 PM EST4:13 PM VEN0:43 UAE (+1)3:43 PM CT-The Twins activated Hughes (oblique) from the disabled list, and he'll make his season debut Sunday against the Rays.
Analysis: Hughes pronounced himself ready to go after throwing five scoreless innings in a second rehab start for Class A Fort Myers on April 14. He only threw 61 pitches in that outing, so the Twins likely won't push him overly hard in his return.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2007 NYY 5 3 0 - 0 13 13 0 72.2 64 39 36 8 29 0 58 1.28 4.46
2008 NYY 0 4 0 - 0 8 8 0 34.0 43 26 25 3 15 0 23 1.71 6.62
2009 NYY 8 3 3 - 6 51 7 0 86.0 68 31 29 8 28 1 96 1.12 3.03
2010 NYY 18 8 0 - 0 31 29 0 176.1 162 83 82 25 58 1 146 1.25 4.19
2011 NYY 5 5 0 - 0 17 14 1 74.2 84 48 48 9 27 2 47 1.49 5.79
2012 NYY 16 13 0 - 0 32 32 1 191.1 196 101 89 35 46 0 165 1.26 4.19
2013 NYY 4 14 0 - 0 30 29 0 145.2 170 91 84 24 42 4 121 1.46 5.19
2014 Min 16 10 0 - 0 32 32 1 209.2 221 88 82 16 16 1 186 1.13 3.52
2015 Min 11 9 0 - 0 27 25 1 155.1 184 76 76 29 16 0 94 1.29 4.40
2016 Min 1 7 0 - 0 12 11 1 59.0 76 40 39 11 13 0 34 1.51 5.95
2017 Min 4 3 0 - 0 14 9 0 53.2 72 38 35 12 13 2 38 1.58 5.87
2018 Min 0 0 0 - 0 7 2 0 12.0 14 9 9 4 5 1 8 1.58 6.75
Career 88 79 3 - 6 274 211 5 1270.1 1354 670 634 184 308 12 1016 1.31 4.49

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 NYY 31 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 NYY 32 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 NYY 30 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Min 32 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Min 27 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Min 12 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 274 17 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 8 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2007 NYY Total 1 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 5.2 3 1 1 1 0 0 6 1.59
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 5.2 3 1 1 1 0 0 6 1.59
2009 NYY Total 0 1 0 - 1 9 0 0 6.1 11 6 6 1 4 0 7 8.53
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.0 5 2 2 0 1 0 3 9.00
    LCS 0 1 0 - 1 3 0 0 2.2 4 1 1 0 1 0 3 3.38
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 1.2 2 3 3 1 2 0 1 16.20
2010 NYY Total 1 2 0 - 0 3 3 0 15.2 18 11 11 1 8 3 12 6.32
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 4 0 0 0 1 0 6 0.00
    LCS 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 8.2 14 11 11 1 7 3 6 11.42
2011 NYY Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.1 2 0 0 0 0 0 4 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.1 2 0 0 0 0 0 4 0.00
2012 NYY Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 9.2 7 2 2 2 6 0 9 1.86
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.2 4 1 1 1 3 0 8 1.35
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.0 3 1 1 1 3 0 1 3.00
Career 2 4 0 - 1 18 5 0 39.2 41 20 20 5 18 3 38 4.54


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 137 93 87 90.5 67.82
Curveball 33 81 76 79 16.34
Split-Finger 5 82 80 80.8 2.48
Cut Fastball 27 88 83 85.7 13.37

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Latest Scores and Results