Baseball

MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#40
Jason Hammel
ERA W-L K
3.54 10-11 153
Team: OaklandHt / Wt: 6-6 / 225 NFBC ADP: 526.81
Position: SPBorn: 9/2/1982 Birthplace: Greenville, South Carolina
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 10th Round by Devil Rays (2002)


Latest News
Sep. 2 10:17 AM PT11:17 AM MT12:17 PM CT1:17 PM ET13:17 ET17:17 GMT1:17 10:17 AM MST12:17 PM EST12:47 PM VEN21:17 UAE12:17 PM CT-Hammel allowed a run and three hits in eight innings of Monday's win over Seattle.
Analysis: Hammel has settled in nicely with a 2-1 record and 2.40 ERA in his last five starts.
Aug. 6 12:25 PM PT1:25 PM MT2:25 PM CT3:25 PM ET15:25 ET19:25 GMT3:25 12:25 PM MST2:25 PM EST2:55 PM VEN23:25 UAE2:25 PM CT-Hammel ended a four-start losing streak Tuesday, throwing 5 2-3 innings in a 3-0 victory over Tampa Bay.
Analysis: Hammel had given up 18 earned runs in 17 innings while losing his four previous outings.
July 31 11:36 AM PT12:36 PM MT1:36 PM CT2:36 PM ET14:36 ET18:36 GMT2:36 11:36 AM MST1:36 PM EST2:06 PM VEN22:36 UAE1:36 PM CT-Hammel's struggles continued in an 8-1 loss to Houston on Wednesday.
Analysis: Hammel matched a career high by allowing eight runs in 4 1-3 innings. He's 0-4 with a 9.53 ERA in four starts since being acquired from the Chicago Cubs on July 4.
July 26 1:51 PM PT2:51 PM MT3:51 PM CT4:51 PM ET16:51 ET20:51 GMT4:51 1:51 PM MST3:51 PM EST4:21 PM VEN0:51 UAE (+1)3:51 PM CT-Hammel lost his third straight start Friday, giving up four runs - three eraned - and seven hits over 5 2-3 innings in a 4-1 defeat at Texas.
Analysis: Hammel hasn't been what the Athletics were hoping for, going 0-3 with a 7.11 ERA in three starts since being acquired from the Cubs.
July 5 3:40 PM PT4:40 PM MT5:40 PM CT6:40 PM ET18:40 ET22:40 GMT6:40 3:40 PM MST5:40 PM EST6:10 PM VEN2:40 UAE (+1)5:40 PM CT-Hammel earned his second straight win Friday in his final start for the Cubs, limiting Washington to two runs over six innings in a 7-2 victory before being traded to Oakland.
Analysis: The A's appear to be getting a quality arm in Hammel, who owns a 2.84 ERA over his last seven games.
July 5 10:21 PM PT11:21 PM MT12:21 AM CT1:21 AM ET1:21 ET5:21 GMT13:21 10:21 PM MST12:21 AM EST12:51 AM VEN9:21 UAE12:21 AM CT-The Oakland Athletics have an agreement in place to acquire Jeff Samardzija and Hammel from the Chicago Cubs for three top prospects in a surprising trade for the team with the best record in the majors, two people with knowledge of the deal said Friday night.
Analysis: While he will turn 32 on Sept. 2, Hammel has been as reliable as ever for the Cubs. He is 8-5 with a 2.98 ERA and 104 strikeouts in 108 2-3 innings. He will be a free agent after the season.
June 28 1:49 PM PT2:49 PM MT3:49 PM CT4:49 PM ET16:49 ET20:49 GMT4:49 1:49 PM MST3:49 PM EST4:19 PM VEN0:49 UAE (+1)3:49 PM CT-Hammel continued his dominance over Washington on Friday.
Analysis: Hammel allowed five hits and two runs over 6 1-3 innings en route to his seventh victory in seven decisions against the Nationals in his career.
June 23 3:39 PM PT4:39 PM MT5:39 PM CT6:39 PM ET18:39 ET22:39 GMT6:39 3:39 PM MST5:39 PM EST6:09 PM VEN2:39 UAE (+1)5:39 PM CT-Hammel was a tough-luck loser Sunday.
Analysis: Hammel allowed two runs and six hits in seven innings. He struck out six and walked one. Hammel is 2-2 with a 3.51 ERA in four starts this season against Pittsburgh. "I can honestly say I'm sick of facing the Pirates," he said. "Four series now and four out of four with them, so I'd like to see some different colors for sure." He faces the Nats next.
Apr. 28 11:40 AM PT12:40 PM MT1:40 PM CT2:40 PM ET14:40 ET18:40 GMT2:40 11:40 AM MST1:40 PM EST2:10 PM VEN22:40 UAE1:40 PM CT-Hammel improved to 4-1 by going seven innings in the Chicago Cubs' 4-0 win in Milwaukee on Sunday.
Analysis: Hammel, who now has a 2.08 ERA in his five starts, fanned a season-high seven while giving up three hits and walking two.
Apr. 23 1:43 PM PT2:43 PM MT3:43 PM CT4:43 PM ET16:43 ET20:43 GMT4:43 1:43 PM MST3:43 PM EST4:13 PM VEN0:43 UAE (+1)3:43 PM CT-Hammel improved to 3-1 Tuesday against Arizona.
Analysis: Hammel turned in his best start of the young season, limiting the Diamondbacks to four runs and one hit over seven innings. He's been solid with a 2.60 through four starts for the Cubs.
Apr. 16 1:05 PM PT2:05 PM MT3:05 PM CT4:05 PM ET16:05 ET20:05 GMT4:05 1:05 PM MST3:05 PM EST3:35 PM VEN0:05 UAE (+1)3:05 PM CT-Hammel suffered his first loss Wednesday.
Analysis: Hammel allowed three runs in seven innings. It was a solid start and there is no shame in being outpitched by Yankees stud newcomer Masahiro Tanaka.
Apr. 10 3:38 PM PT4:38 PM MT5:38 PM CT6:38 PM ET18:38 ET22:38 GMT6:38 3:38 PM MST5:38 PM EST6:08 PM VEN2:38 UAE (+1)5:38 PM CT-Hammel threw seven strong innings as the Chicago Cubs beat the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-5 on Wednesday night despite allowing five solo home runs.
Analysis: Signed to a one-year, $6 million contract over the offseason, Hammel (2-0, 2.63 ERA) won his Cubs debut when he beat the Pirates in Pittsburgh. He got off to another good start in this one, retiring the first 12 batters until Pedro Alvarez's first homer of the game tied it to start the fifth. Hammel allowed three runs and three hits - all solo homers - while striking out six.
Apr. 4 3:57 PM PT4:57 PM MT5:57 PM CT6:57 PM ET18:57 ET22:57 GMT6:57 3:57 PM MST5:57 PM EST6:27 PM VEN2:57 UAE (+1)5:57 PM CT-Hammel pitched two-hit ball into the seventh inning and the Chicago Cubs edged the Pittsburgh Pirates 3-2 on Thursday for their first win of the season.
Analysis: The right-hander allowed a run, struck out five and walked one in 6 2-3 innings to help the Cubs avoid their worst start in 17 years.
Feb. 13 12:47 PM PT1:47 PM MT2:47 PM CT3:47 PM ET15:47 ET20:47 GMT4:47 1:47 PM MST3:47 PM EST4:17 PM VEN0:47 UAE (+1)2:47 PM CT-Chicago has agreed to a one-year contract with Hammel, announcing the deal Thursday. He is set to earn $6 million.
Analysis: The 6-foot-6 Hammel was Baltimore's opening day starter last season but went 7-8 with a 4.97 ERA in 26 appearances - 23 starts. He had a 3.43 ERA in 20 starts in 2012 - his first year with the Orioles.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2006 TB 0 6 0 - 0 9 9 0 44.0 61 38 38 7 21 0 32 1.86 7.77
2007 TB 3 5 0 - 0 24 14 0 85.0 100 58 58 12 40 1 64 1.65 6.14
2008 TB 4 4 2 - 2 40 5 0 78.1 83 45 40 11 35 4 44 1.51 4.60
2009 Col 10 8 0 - 0 34 30 1 176.2 203 94 85 17 42 6 133 1.39 4.33
2010 Col 10 9 0 - 0 30 30 0 177.2 201 97 95 18 47 1 141 1.40 4.81
2011 Col 7 13 1 - 1 32 27 0 170.1 175 100 90 21 68 3 94 1.43 4.76
2012 Bal 8 6 0 - 0 20 20 1 118.0 104 48 45 9 42 2 113 1.24 3.43
2013 Bal 7 8 1 - 1 26 23 0 139.1 155 81 77 22 48 1 96 1.46 4.97
2014 ChC 8 5 0 - 0 17 17 0 108.2 88 36 36 10 23 2 104 1.02 2.98
2014 Oak 2 6 0 - 0 12 11 0 61.2 61 33 31 13 21 0 49 1.33 4.52
2014 Tot 10 11 0 - 0 29 28 0 170.1 149 69 67 23 44 2 153 1.13 3.54
Career 59 70 4 - 4 244 186 2 1159.2 1231 630 595 140 387 20 870 1.40 4.62

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 TB 24 1 0 1 1 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 1.000 1.000 2.000
2009 Col 34 55 1 6 1 0 0 0 2 25 0 0 .109 .140 .127
2010 Col 30 57 3 6 1 0 0 2 1 29 0 0 .105 .121 .123
2011 Col 33 46 3 7 1 0 1 4 1 15 0 0 .152 .170 .239
2012 Bal 20 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Bal 26 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 ChC 17 35 2 5 0 0 0 3 1 14 0 0 .143 .167 .143
2014 Oak 12 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Tot 29 38 2 5 0 0 0 3 1 14 0 0 .132 .154 .132
Career 245 204 9 25 4 0 1 10 5 88 0 0 .123 .144 .157

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2009 Col Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.2 4 4 4 1 3 0 5 9.82
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.2 4 4 4 1 3 0 5 9.82
2012 Bal Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.1 8 4 4 0 6 2 11 3.18
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.1 8 4 4 0 6 2 11 3.18
Career 0 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 15.0 12 8 8 1 9 2 16 4.80

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2009 Col Total 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 1.000
    LDS 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 - 1.000 -
Career 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 - 1.000 -


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1589 95 88 92.3 59.07
Curveball 147 79 73 76.1 5.46
Slider 857 88 79 82.7 31.86
Changeup 97 88 82 85.2 3.61

127 © 2014 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.

Latest Scores and Results